RoomHate by Penelope Ward

RHPages: 280

Goodreads Rating: 4.16 / 5 stars

My Rating: 3 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Publishing Date: February 3, 2016

Publisher: Self Published

Summary (Goodreads):

WARNING: My review contains SPOILERS.

Sharing a summer house with a hot-as-hell roommate should be a dream come true, right?

Not when it’s Justin…the only person I’d ever loved…who now hates me.

When my grandmother died and left me half of the house on Aquidneck Island, there was a catch: the other half would go to the boy she helped raise.

The same boy who turned into the teenager whose heart I broke years ago.

The same teenager who’s now a man with a hard body and a hardass personality to match.

I hadn’t seen him in years, and now we’re living together because neither one of us is willing to give up the house.

The worst part? He didn’t come alone.

I’d soon realize there’s a thin line between love and hate. I could see through that smug smile. Beneath it all…the boy is still there. So is our connection.

The problem is…now that I can’t have Justin, I’ve never wanted him more.

Author’s note – RoomHate is a full-length standalone novel. Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

My Review:

I’ll be mentioning some spoilers. You have been warned.

When Amelia Payne’s grandmother passed away, she inherited her Nana’s beach house. However, it’s co-inherited by Justin Banks, her childhood friend and the boy her Nana raised as her own. However, things didn’t go well between them on the past, causing a strained relationship that lasted for years.

Now that the boy she loves becomes her roommate roomhate, the tension rises up. They’re both suppressing their feelings and trying their best to bury those issues and start anew as friends. Amelia is going to do whatever it takes for Justin to forgive her even if there’s still anger in his heart. Years have passed, he is still the boy she loves but she can’t cross the line especially Justin has a girlfriend and being on the same roof with them, breaks her heart.

To avoid spoilers, I’m going to stop there. There are more things happened as the story goes on. To be honest, the drama is entertaining and I like it. Halfway, I started to have mixed feelings because of its plot twist. Like, DAMN IT.

SPOILER ALERT!!

WARNING.

SPOILERS AHEAD!

Here are my conflicted feelings:
Amelia being pregnant with her ex-boyfriend, Adam just makes me go “what the F.” I mean, it’s part of the drama but Adam really gets on my nerves. He’s an asshole for making Amelia carry all the burdens.

Of course, Justin still cares for Amelia. He can’t let go of her and it’s predictable he’ll break things off with Jade (the girlfriend) because deep down, he’s lying to himself and to her. Yes, he loves Jade but not as much as Amelia.

Is it a good thing?
YES. In a way there’s no cheating involved. The honesty prevails.
NO. Because Jade is a genuine lady and she deserves a better relationship than that. My heart breaks for her.

MORE SPOILERS!

Despite of my conflicted feelings, it’s replaced with good and sweet, giddy moments. I loved that there’s not much sex in it. (though there is a palpable sexual tension, the characters managed to control their raging hormones. bwahaha!) I simply adore Justin Banks for this reason: The fact he’s scared to have kids thinking he might not be a good father. I’m completely in awed when claims Bea/Beatrice, Amelia’s baby as his own though he’s not the biological father. I really respect him for that. That song he composed “Bea-u-tiful”, my heart melts.  and kudos for Amelia for being an independent woman.

Overall, this is a light, sexy new adult novel. Penelope Ward’s writing style is good. The character developments are great and I still enjoyed it but it could have been better.

I buddy read this with Pearl, Elena and Jovel [Click the names to read their thoughts about this book]

Final rating: 3/5 stars

B

Leave a comment