Two Weeks Notice by Whitney G.

two weeks noticePages: 244

Goodreads Rating: 4.09 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: July 19th 2018

Publisher: WGW Books LLC

Summary: 

Add to Goodreads

To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing this letter to formally announce my resignation from Parker International (& the arrogant, condescending CEO) effective two weeks from today.

This was a VERY EASY decision to make, as the past two years have been utterly miserable. I wish his next executive assistant all the luck in the world (she’ll need it) and if my boss should need me to do anything over the next two weeks, kindly tell him that he can do it [his] goddamn self…

Sincerely (Not Really),
Tara Lauren

That’s the version of my two weeks’ notice I should’ve sent to my boss, because the more professional version – the one where I said I was “grateful for all the opportunities,” and “honored by all the rewarding experiences” over the years?

That letter was rejected with his sexy, trademark smirk and an “I highly suggest you read the fine print of your contract…”

So, I did.

And now I’ve realized that unless I fake my death, poison him, or find a way to renegotiate my impossible contract, I’m stuck working under one of the cockiest and most ruthless bosses in New York.

Then again, I thought that was the case until he called me late last night with an emergency proposition…

**This is a standalone contemporary romance.**

Continue reading “Two Weeks Notice by Whitney G.”

Advertisements

Dirty Headlines by L.J. Shen

dirty headlinesPages: 326

Goodreads Rating: 4.25 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4.5 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: September 7th 2018

Publisher: Self-published

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

From bestselling author L.J. Shen, comes a new standalone, enemies-to-lovers romance.

Célian Laurent.
Manhattan royalty.
Notorious playboy.
Heir to a media empire.
…And my new boss.

I could have impressed him, if not for last month’s unforgettable one-night stand.
I left it with more than orgasms and a pleasant memory–namely, his wallet.
Now he’s staring me down like I’m the dirt under his Italian loafers, and I’m supposed to take it.
But the thing about being Judith “Jude” Humphry is I have nothing to lose.
Brooklyn girl.
Infamously quirky.
Heir to a stack of medical bills and a tattered couch.
When he looks at me from across the room, I see the glint in his eyes, and that makes us rivals.
He knows it.
So do I.
Every day in the newsroom is a battle.
Every night in his bed, war.
But it’s my heart at stake, and I fear I’ll be raising the white flag.

Continue reading “Dirty Headlines by L.J. Shen”

Twisted Pride by Cora Reilly

45062506Pages: 418

Goodreads Rating: 4.50 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5  stars

Genre: New Adult Dark Romance

Publication Date: April 12th 2019

Publisher: Self published

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

Remo Falcone is beyond redemption.As Capo of the Camorra he rules with a brutal hand over his territory – a territory the Chicago Outfit breached. Now Remo is out for retribution. A wedding is sacred, stealing a bride sacrilegious. Serafina is the niece of the Boss of the Outfit, and her hand has been promised in marriage for years, but kidnapped in her wedding dress on her way to church by Remo, Serafina quickly realizes that she can’t hope for saving. Yet, even in the hands of the cruelest man she knows, she is determined to cling to her pride, and Remo soon understands that the woman at his mercy might not be as easy to break as he thought.A ruthless man on a quest to destroy the Outfit by breaking someone they are supposed to protect. A woman intent on bringing a monster to his knees. Two families that will never be the same.

Continue reading “Twisted Pride by Cora Reilly”

The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco

THFPages: 528

Goodreads Rating: 4.31 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal Fantasy

Publication Date: March 20th 2018

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection―now she’s after revenge…

No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life…and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her―and took the life of her one true love.

But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea’s dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can’t kill someone who can never die…

War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe.

Continue reading “The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco”

Twisted Emotions by Cora Reilly

tePages: 366

Goodreads Rating: 4.38 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult Dark Romance

Publication Date: January 8th 2019

Publisher: Self-published

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

Nino Falcone is genius and monster. As the right hand man and brother of the Capo of the Camorra, his lack of feelings is a blessing, not a curse – until his brother asks him to marry for the sake of the Camorra.

Kiara Vitiello, cousin of the Capo of the New York Famiglia, is chosen to marry Nino Falcone to prevent war with the Camorra, but what she hears about Las Vegas makes her veins pulse with terror. After her father betrayed his Capo and paid with his life, her family thinks marriage is her only chance to bring honor to her name; but only Kiara knows she’s a faulty prize given in return for peace.
A man incapable of emotions and a woman scarred by the past – an arranged marriage with the potential to unite, or destroy…

Continue reading “Twisted Emotions by Cora Reilly”

A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi

avleosPages: 320

Goodreads Rating: 4.34 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: October 16th 2018

Publisher: Harper Teen

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

It’s 2002, a year after 9/11. It’s an extremely turbulent time politically, but especially so for someone like Shirin, a sixteen-year-old Muslim girl who’s tired of being stereotyped.

Shirin is never surprised by how horrible people can be. She’s tired of the rude stares, the degrading comments—even the physical violence—she endures as a result of her race, her religion, and the hijab she wears every day. So she’s built up protective walls and refuses to let anyone close enough to hurt her. Instead, she drowns her frustrations in music and spends her afternoons break-dancing with her brother.

But then she meets Ocean James. He’s the first person in forever who really seems to want to get to know Shirin. It terrifies her—they seem to come from two irreconcilable worlds—and Shirin has had her guard up for so long that she’s not sure she’ll ever be able to let it down.

Continue reading “A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi”

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke et. al

sgmbPages: 400

Goodreads Rating: 3.89 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult Horror, Psychological Thriller

Publication Date: August 18th 2015

Publisher: Dial Books

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror 

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters

Continue reading “Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke et. al”