The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco

THFPages: 528

Goodreads Rating: 4.31 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal Fantasy

Publication Date: March 20th 2018

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection―now she’s after revenge…

No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life…and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her―and took the life of her one true love.

But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea’s dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can’t kill someone who can never die…

War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe.

Continue reading “The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco”

Advertisements

Twisted Emotions by Cora Reilly

tePages: 366

Goodreads Rating: 4.38 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult Dark Romance

Publication Date: January 8th 2019

Publisher: Self-published

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

Nino Falcone is genius and monster. As the right hand man and brother of the Capo of the Camorra, his lack of feelings is a blessing, not a curse – until his brother asks him to marry for the sake of the Camorra.

Kiara Vitiello, cousin of the Capo of the New York Famiglia, is chosen to marry Nino Falcone to prevent war with the Camorra, but what she hears about Las Vegas makes her veins pulse with terror. After her father betrayed his Capo and paid with his life, her family thinks marriage is her only chance to bring honor to her name; but only Kiara knows she’s a faulty prize given in return for peace.
A man incapable of emotions and a woman scarred by the past – an arranged marriage with the potential to unite, or destroy…

Continue reading “Twisted Emotions by Cora Reilly”

A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi

avleosPages: 320

Goodreads Rating: 4.34 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: October 16th 2018

Publisher: Harper Teen

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

It’s 2002, a year after 9/11. It’s an extremely turbulent time politically, but especially so for someone like Shirin, a sixteen-year-old Muslim girl who’s tired of being stereotyped.

Shirin is never surprised by how horrible people can be. She’s tired of the rude stares, the degrading comments—even the physical violence—she endures as a result of her race, her religion, and the hijab she wears every day. So she’s built up protective walls and refuses to let anyone close enough to hurt her. Instead, she drowns her frustrations in music and spends her afternoons break-dancing with her brother.

But then she meets Ocean James. He’s the first person in forever who really seems to want to get to know Shirin. It terrifies her—they seem to come from two irreconcilable worlds—and Shirin has had her guard up for so long that she’s not sure she’ll ever be able to let it down.

Continue reading “A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi”

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke et. al

sgmbPages: 400

Goodreads Rating: 3.89 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult Horror, Psychological Thriller

Publication Date: August 18th 2015

Publisher: Dial Books

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror 

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters

Continue reading “Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke et. al”

Nero by Sarah Brianne

neroPages: 292

Goodreads Rating: 4.09 / 5 stars

My Rating: 2 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult, Romance

Publication Date: June 27th 2014

Publisher: Young Ink Press

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

Nero is the king of Legacy Prep, living a life of power.
Elle is the school’s punching bag, living a life of fear.
The only good girls Nero knows jump in his bed when he tells them to.
The closest Elle has come to a bad boy like him is in the cafeteria line.
The mob boss gave him orders to find out what she knows.
Her mouth is sealed.

I just want to be a fu**ing made man.
I’m just a fu**ing waitress.

Continue reading “Nero by Sarah Brianne”

Bound by Love by Cora Reilly

BBLPages: 406

Goodreads Rating: 4.22 / 5 stars

My Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult, Mafia Romance, Dark

Publication Date: December 4th 2018

Publisher: Self-Published

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

Nobody expected them to fall in love.
When Aria was given to Luca in marriage, people were sure he’d break her.
Aria feared the worst from a man like him.
A man without mercy.
But somehow she gained his love.
Love – a weakness a Capo like Luca shouldn’t risk.
When Aria betrays Luca by going behind his back for her family, she realizes too late that she might have lost what she’s fought so hard to get in the first place: Luca’s trust.
The trust of a man who never allowed himself to trust someone unconditionally before.
Can their love survive in a world of betrayal and death?

Continue reading “Bound by Love by Cora Reilly”

Sincerely, Carter by Whitney G.

SincerelyCPages: 246

Goodreads Rating: 4.09 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: May 1st 2015

Publisher: WGW Books

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

Just friends.
We’re just friends.
No, really. She’s just my best friend… 

Arizona Turner has been my best friend since fourth grade, even when we “hated” each other. We’ve been there for one another through first kisses, first “times,” and we’ve been each other’s constant when good relationships turned bad. (We even went to colleges that were minutes away from each other…)

Throughout the years, and despite what anyone says, we’ve never crossed the line.

Never thought about it.
Never wanted to.

Until one night changed everything.
At least, it should’ve …

Just friends.
We’re just friends.
I’m only saying this until I figure out if she’s still “just” my best friend…

Continue reading “Sincerely, Carter by Whitney G.”