Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke et. al

sgmbPages: 400

Goodreads Rating: 3.89 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult Horror, Psychological Thriller

Publication Date: August 18th 2015

Publisher: Dial Books

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror 

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters

Continue reading “Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke et. al”

Advertisements

TV Series Thoughts | The Haunting of Hill House

IMDB Rating: 8.8 / 10hill house

My Rating: 9 / 10

No. of episodes: 10

Running Time: 42 – 71 min / episode

Genre: Supernatural, Horror, Drama

Casts: Michiel Huisman, Carla Gugino, Henry Thomas, Elizabeth Reaser, Oliver Jackson-Cohen, Kate Siegel, Victoria Pedretti, Lulu Wilson, Mckenna Grace,  Paxton Singleton, Julian Hilliard, Violet McGraw, Timothy Hutton

Producer: Mike Flanagan

Summary:

Check on IMDB

Flashing between past and present, a fractured family confronts haunting memories of their old home and the terrifying events that drove them from it.

Continue reading “TV Series Thoughts | The Haunting of Hill House”

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein by Kiersten White

TDDOEFPages: 304

Goodreads Rating: 4.12 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5  stars

Genre: Young Adult, Historical fiction, Gothic, Horror, Retelling

Publication Date: September 25th 2018

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

Elizabeth Lavenza hasn’t had a proper meal in weeks. Her thin arms are covered with bruises from her “caregiver,” and she is on the verge of being thrown into the streets . . . until she is brought to the home of Victor Frankenstein, an unsmiling, solitary boy who has everything–except a friend.

Victor is her escape from misery. Elizabeth does everything she can to make herself indispensable–and it works. She is taken in by the Frankenstein family and rewarded with a warm bed, delicious food, and dresses of the finest silk. Soon she and Victor are inseparable.

But her new life comes at a price. As the years pass, Elizabeth’s survival depends on managing Victor’s dangerous temper and entertaining his every whim, no matter how depraved. Behind her blue eyes and sweet smile lies the calculating heart of a girl determined to stay alive no matter the cost . . . as the world she knows is consumed by darkness.

Continue reading “The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein by Kiersten White”

What the Dead Want by Norah Olson

WTDW.jpgPages: 320

Goodreads Rating: 3.32 / 5 stars

My Rating: 2 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult, Horror

Publishing Date: July 26, 2016

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Summary (Goodreads):

16 -year-old Gretchen takes photographs to understand the world around her, a passion her mother Mona fostered and encouraged when she was still around. Since her mom disappeared years ago, Gretchen and her dad have lived on their own in New York City, haunted by Mona’s absence.

When Gretchen’s great aunt Esther calls unexpectedly to tell her that she has inherited the pre-Civil War mansion on her mother’s side of the family in upstate New York, Gretchen understands nothing except that her aunt needs her help. But what she finds there is beyond her imagination. The house is crumbling apart, filled with stacks of papers and journals from decades, even centuries past, and it’s crawling with rodents. It’s also full of secrets and a legacy of racism and violence so reprehensible that the ghosts of the past are exacting revenge on the living.

Somehow the mystery of Mona’s disappearance and the atrocities that happened on the land during the Civil War are inextricably intertwined, and it’s up to Gretchen to figure out how…before even more lives are lost.

Continue reading “What the Dead Want by Norah Olson”

The Suffering by Rin Chupeco

TS.jpgPages: 313

Goodreads Rating: 4.22 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Horror

Publication Date: September 8, 2015

Publisher: Sourcebooks

Summary (Goodreads):

Seventeen-year-old Tark knows what it is to be powerless. But Okiku changed that. A restless spirit who ended life as a victim and started death as an avenger, she’s groomed Tark to destroy the wicked. But when darkness pulls them deep into Aokigahara, known as Japan’s suicide forest, Okiku’s justice becomes blurred, and Tark is the one who will pay the price…

Continue reading “The Suffering by Rin Chupeco”

The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender

TDGoHHPages: 329

Goodreads Rating: 3.93 / 5 Stars

My Rating: 3 / 5 Stars

Genre: Young Adult, Horror, Mystery

Publishing Date: August 25, 2015

Publisher: Point

Summary (Goodreads):

In this asylum, your mind plays tricks on you all the time…

Delia’s new house isn’t just a house. Long ago, it was the Piven Institute for the Care and Correction of Troubled Females—an insane asylum nicknamed “Hysteria Hall.” However, many of the inmates were not insane, just defiant and strong willed. Kind of like Delia herself.

But the house still wants to keep “troubled” girls locked away. So, in the most horrifying way, Delia gets trapped.

And that’s when she learns that the house is also haunted.

Ghost girls wander the halls in their old-fashioned nightgowns. A handsome ghost boy named Theo roams the grounds. Delia finds that all the spirits are unsettled and full of dark secrets. The house, as well, harbors shocking truths within its walls—truths that only Delia can uncover, and that may set her free.

But she’ll need to act quickly, before the house’s power overtakes everything she loves.

From master of suspense Katie Alender comes a riveting tale of twisted memories and betrayals, and the meaning of madness.

Continue reading “The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender”

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Halloween Recommendations

This tag is created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey. For the Goodreads Group: Top 5 Wednesday to check for every week’s topic. For this week’s topic: Halloween Recommendations! Time for some spooky reads or probably horror movie recommendations.  🙂

TPGH

True Philippine Ghost Stories

  • Throwback to my Elementary Days when I’m into short stories than novels. TPGS (True Philippine Ghost Stories) is a compilation of stories by those people who have supernatural encounters or experiences. I used to collect several volumes and read it before my classes starts. Some of them are legit and creepy and some are quite hard to believe. Still, I enjoyed reading it.

TGFTW

The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco

  • I’ve read this recently and I really like the story. It reminds me of The Grudge and The Ring movies – Japanese version, which scared the heck out of me. This is definitely a quick read. Check out my full review here.

tuomd

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

  • Just looking at the cover it seems pretty mysterious and creepy. You know what, it is creepy and unpredictable. This is a psychological thriller / paranormal romance. It’s fun reading this and make your own theory of what happens next. Tip: If you don’t have the second book and you are reading this, GRAB IT. It’s a cliffhanger. Read my review here.

11958033

Ten by Gretchen McNeil

  • This is one of those books with an easy writing style but will put you on the edge of your seat. I started this book around 7pm and ended up sleeping around 4 am. I had goose bumps. I couldn’t sleep. The ambiance was really scary and made me nervous. Ten teens. Three Days. One Killer. –> seriously. You just want to find out who’s the killer.  You can read my full thoughts here.

Dark Secrets

Dark Secrets 1: Legacy of Lies & Don’t Tell by Elizabeth Chandler

  • I picked this book randomly because it’s on sale and decided to give it a try. I didn’t expect that this will make me shiver.  It contains two mystery/thriller stories which are fast-paced and enjoyable. I like them both.

Horror movie recommendation (Additional):

(Left to Right:  Shutter, The Grudge: Ju-On, A Tale of Two Sisters, Feng Shui, The Eye) – These movies might be old, but THEY ARE AWESOME AND SCARED THE HECK OUT OF ME!

shutter Juonthegrudgeposter A_Tale_of_Two_Sisters_filmFeng_Shui_Official_Theatrical_Poster_2004220px-The-Eye-2002-poster

What are your Halloween Recommendations? Have you read or watched any of these? Feel free to share in the comments 😉

 B