Series Review | Tainted Hearts series (Books 1-5) by Lylah James


For my full reviews, kindly click the link to view:

The Mafia and His Angel part 1 – ★★★★ 

The Mafia and His Angel part 2 – ★★★★ 

The Mafia and His Angel part 3 – ★★★★ 


Add to Goodreads


Cold. Ruthless. Killer. I am respected and feared by all.

I wasn’t put on this earth to love or be loved. I was put here to wipe out every last member of the damn Abandonato mafia, to pay them back for my mother’s death.

When I find a strange girl hiding, beaten, under my bed, I don’t let her live out of compassion. She’s a trinket, my plaything.


I thought Alessio was only one more man who wanted to use me, hurt me, and throw me away. I don’t know what it is to trust anymore. I can’t find my heart under the pain.

Alessio found it. He touched it, and brought it alive again.

But if he discovers just how dangerous I am to him…I’ll lose my life.

For my full reviews for each book, kindly click the links: 

The Mafia and His Obsession part 1 – ★★★★ 

The Mafia and His Obsession Part 2 – ★★★★ 


Add to Goodreads

My life only has one purpose, and it’s to protect them—my family.

Whether I fight, maim, or kill the enemy, it makes no difference to me. If have to take a bullet for my family, I would embrace death with a goddamn smile on my face.

When their safety is compromised, I put my life on the line and made a deal with the devil. I never questioned it, not even once…

…Until her.

All it takes is one glance. With her pretty eyes now imprinted on my soul, the foundation my life has been built on is shifting. My loyalty has become hazy, and my life has a new meaning. There’s a pull between us that’s undeniable, and a carnal desire that threatens to ruin us both. It has turned me into a man obsessed.

My perfect, well-planned life is now in chaos, and a choice needs to be made.

My family…or my obsession?

My Review: 

Lylah James is one of the authors I discovered out on a whim. I was looking for a mafia series and stumbled on her books and binge read the entire series. It’s ongoing series and there’s more to look forward. 

The first three books is about Alessio and Ayla. Their story gradually builds up and you must have patience as the plot twist unveils. Ms. James made her supporting characters interesting and it’s hinted they too have their own story to tell. Each book ends with a cliffhanger, so brace yourself.  I like Alessio and Ayla, their whirlwind romance made them tough characters especially our heroine who is a survivor from abuse. The ending of parts 2 and beginning of part 3 pushed me on my limits. It’s a blissful ending for them

The fourth and fifth book is about Viktor and Valerie. Personally, Viktor became my favorite hero (I have a soft spot for secondary heroes) and he deserves a spotlight. I was worried for these two books because the pattern is almost the same as the first 3 books — abused heroine, then hero becomes the savior — but I love it ended better than Alessio and Ayla’s (sorry my loves!). I don’t want to give further details because spoiler alert! 

Overall, this is a solid mafia series and I’m just here dying for Nikolai and Evaline’s books. The preview got me more excited as hell!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s