My 20 Favorite Books/Series of 2017

To wrap up this year, here are my 20 books / series that stand out this year. Some of them are part of a series or written by the same authors. Re-read books won’t be counted and in case it’s a series, it will be counted as one. My list will be in ascending order.

  • (20) Legend by Katy Evans – After catching up on the Real series, it turns out Remington Tate isn’t my favorite. My heart goes to Maverick Cage! The story was simple, and both protagonists have great character developments than the rest of the leading couple. They truly stand out.
  • (19) Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins – Light-hearted and cute. It’s been a while since I’ve read a Stephanie Perkins book and I miss it. I must say this one is more mature than the first two books.
  • (18) Royally Endowed by Emma Chase – My most anticipated finale of Royally series didn’t disappoint me. I’m so happy Royal bodyguard Logan St. James and Ellie Hammond FINALLY got together! I LIVE FOR THE SWOON WORTHY MOMENTS! I seriously devoured every page. I can’t wait for the spin-off series woot woot! ❤
  • (17) Reaper by A. Zavarelli – I recently binge read the Boston Underworld series and its second book was my favorite. It’s character driven and angst-y. I love Ronan and Sasha’s chemistry.
  • (16) The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry – Here’s to another series I binge read. The first book in the Elements series centers on grief. Tristan Cole and Elizabeth Cole lost someone in their life but gave another shot in love. They healed together and found happiness they deserved.
  • (15) Playboy Pilot by Penelope Ward and Vi Keeland – Aside from the romance and awkward first encounter, I love the traveling part of this book. It’s so relaxing and enjoyable. The characters had so much fun on their adventure.
  • (14) Stuck-Up Suit by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward – I’m weighing between this book and Playboy Pilot but I go for this one because it’s an enemies-to-lovers story and  Soraya Venedetta is sassy and fierce af! I love whenever she and Graham exchange some banters. It adds more sexual tension.
  • (13) Wethering the Storm by Samantha Towle – I recently devour this rockstar romance series. Wethering the Storm is Jake Wethers and Trudy Bennett’s epilogue and their story brought me to tears. It’s sweet, touching and absolutely romantic.
  • (12) Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman – An amazing and realistic portrayal of mental illness: Schizophrenia. The story is engaging and its lines are straightforward. Neal Shusterman is one of my new to me authors this year and I’m looking forward to read more of his books.
  • (11) Scarlet Scars duet (Menace & Grievous) by J.M. Darhower – This is Monster in His Eyes spin-off duet and it’s about Ignazio Vitale’s frenemy, Lorenzo Gambini. You got to love that man’s dark sense of humor and he made me swoon especially on Grievous.
  • (10) Hideaway by Penelope Douglas – Penelope Douglas explores on Dark Romance / Romantic Suspense and I’m glad to say it’s really impressive. Hideaway is the second book of the Devil’s Night series and it’s about my favorite Thunder Bay’s Four Horsemen Kai Mori and Banks. Their story is gritty and edgy as the first book but this is more plot driven.
  • (9) Made by J.M. Darhower – J.M. Darhower is one of the best authors who can write mafia novels and for me this is the best one she’d written. The story is about Corrado Moretti a.k.a The Kevlar Killer and Carmine DeMarco’s uncle.  It’s recommended to finish Sempre and Sempre Redemption first before jumping to this one to avoid spoilers. Minimal romance that is still swoony and more mafia life. I guarantee you the last page will make you cry. 😉
  • (8) Behind the Bars by Brittainy C. Cherry – Elliott and Jasmine’s story was beautiful and touching. Brittainy C. Cherry knows how to stir her readers emotions and I love the father figures in this book.
  • (7) The Silent Waters by Brittainy C. Cherry – Among the Elementals series, this is my favorite book. It’s a close call between this book and Behind the Bars. Both are emotional and fantastically written in different ways. The Silent Waters has a cute and serious moments. It reminds me of Flipped and The Sea of Tranquility. If enjoyed those books, you might enjoy this book.
  • (6) Addicted After All by Krista & Becca Ritchie – I’m speechless and emotional on Lily and Lo’s epilogue. It’s so fucking beautiful and I sobbed while listening to the audio book.  It was a long journey and I’m proud of them for battling their addictions. I love their character developments.
  • (5) The Hating Game by Sally Thorne – An amazing office romance with glorious banters. Lucy and Josh will make you giggle and swoon at the same time.
  • (4) Warcross by Marie Lu – The story was thrilling and entertaining. The world building is incredible and I love the set of diverse characters. They’re all badass and I can’t wait to read its sequel next year! So good to be back reading Marie Lu’s novels since Legend trilogy.
  • (3) Sustained by Emma Chase – BEST. EMMA. CHASE. BOOK. HANDS. DOWN. Jake Becker just dethroned Drew Evans (sorry Drew!). Omg. Sustained is very swoon worthy. I love Jake. I love Chelsea. I LOVE THE MCQUAID KIDS. MY FAVORITE ADORABLE BABIES. HI REGAN!
  • (2) Fuel the Fire by Krista & Becca Ritchie – Connor Cobalt x Rose Calloway = FOREVER MY SHIP! ❤ Relationship goals. Married life goals. They conquered everything even at vulnerable moments. I can’t believe I’m done with their story. I don’t want it to be over!  (P.S.Top 2 and 3 are actually a battle of the best book husbands. Haha!)
  • (1) Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han – For the first time in two years(I think?), the crown is back on Young Adult Fiction! The TATBILB Finale held a special place in my heart and I’m incredibly satisfied with the ending. Thank you Jenny Han for not ripping my ship! ❤ ❤ ❤  I had a fantastic time writing my review too.

What are your favorite books this year? Let me know on the comments or you can leave the link of your post on your favorite books this year so I can check it out. Happy Holidays everyone! ❤

b