Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

BIPages: 300

Goodreads Rating: 3.88 / 5 stars

My Rating: 1 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller

Publication Date: October 14th 2014

Publisher: Simon Schuster Books for Young Readers

Summary:

Add to Goodreads

Britt Pheiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants—but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage.

Britt is forced to guide the men off the mountain, and knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. The task is made even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that have taken place there…and in uncovering this, she may become the killer’s next target.

But nothing is as it seems, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnappers. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy? Or an ally?

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

I believe this is Becca Fitzpatrick’s first mystery / thriller novel. Years ago, I’m excited to read this novel because I love her Hush Hush Saga. It’s nice to see her venture from paranormal romance to mystery. To my disappointment, this book isn’t impressive at all.

Timely, it’s rainy here so that adds the chilling atmosphere. At first, I was drawn to the story it but as it progresses I started to lose my interest on it. The female lead, Britt Pheiffer is so annoying, naive and has the worst survival instinct. Gosh, she and her best friend are worst in decision making. I tried to be patient but it’s really frustrating to read the passages as they come up with a bad decision. I don’t even know why Britt is sticking up to Korbie. She’s an insecure, jealous and plastic. What kind of person wants her best friend beneath her or even compare herself to her? That’s not a real best friend to me. All along it’s a rivalry instead of “friendship”. She deserves a better treatment and more respect than that.

The plot twist isn’t as surprising as I thought. I was able to figure out in the early chapters of who’s the suspect for the unsolved crimes. The romance is quite off to me. The stockholm syndrome going on didn’t work. It takes time for that to develop in my opinion and in this case, I find it abrupt. I’m just happy I’m done with this book.

b

2 thoughts on “Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

