The Gravity of Us by Brittainy C. Cherry

TGoUPages: 369

Goodreads Rating: 4.53 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4.5 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: April 13th 2017

Publisher: BCherry Books

Summary (Goodreads):

Graham Russell and I weren’t made for one another.

I was driven by emotion; he was apathetic. I dreamed while he lived in nightmares. I cried when he had no tears to shed.

Despite his frozen heart and my readiness to run, we sometimes shared seconds. Seconds when our eyes locked and we saw each other’s secrets. Seconds when his lips tasted my fears, and I breathed in his pains. Seconds when we both imagined what it would be like to love one another.

Those seconds left us floating, but when reality knocked us sideways, gravity forced us to descend.

Graham Russell wasn’t a man who knew how to love, and I wasn’t a woman who knew how to either. Yet if I had the chance to fall again, I’d fall with him forever.

Even if we were destined to crash against solid ground.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

I would like to thank my dear friend Trish for recommending this book to me (Click her name to read her well-written review).

Among the books in the Elements series, The Gravity of Us has the most light-hearted and simplest story. I like it’s less emotional yet able to showcase heartfelt moments. Nonetheless, this series is exceptionally wrapped up representing the last element: Earth.

“Everything in life happened for a reason,happened exactly how it meant to,no matter how painful it seemed. Some love stories were meant to be forever,and others just for a season.” 

Graham Russell and Lucille Palmer have opposite personalities but they’re so good together. Graham is a coldhearted, grumpy and stern popular author. He lived in a home with no mother and neglected by his alcoholic father. Even until his father’s death, he didn’t have any ounce of sympathy and respect for him. He’s not sociable and he’s not good on handling relationships. I wasn’t a fan of him in the beginning and along the way, he slowly opens himself and learned what true love means.

Lucy is truly a likable character. She balances the story with her charming, carefree and radiant personality. I love her composure and optimism when life gets hard. She’s transparent, expressive and naturally beautiful. She knows how to keep a conversation going and she sincerely helps others without expecting any in return. That’s how good she is. I can’t say she’s flawless because there are moments I find her too sensitive but it didn’t make her any less admirable.

“Being around you does something strange to me, something that hasn’t happened in such a long time.” “What happens?” He took my hand in his then led it to his chest, and his next words came out as a whisper. “My heart begins to beat again.”

The story line might be cliché and has moderate drama, this novel excelled on the slow burn romance. It takes time for Graham and Lucy to build their relationship. Their souls slowly intertwined as they worked on their issues and differences. Even if Graham pushed Lucy away multiple times, she remained a patient companion and respects his space. I love that their intimate scenes are minimal and more on communication. When they fell for each other, it’s magnificent. I have butterflies in my tummy.

The conflict in this book was resolved and it didn’t leave any loopholes. The reason why I didn’t give it 5 stars because I feel like it ended abruptly. Overall, everything went smoothly and I highly recommend this series (It doesn’t have to be read in order as each book can be read as a standalone) You’ll never regret reading Brittainy C. Cherry’s books.

b

5 thoughts on “The Gravity of Us by Brittainy C. Cherry

Leave a Reply

