The Silent Waters by Brittainy C. Cherry

TSWPages: 316

Goodreads Rating: 4.41 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: September 22nd 2016

Publisher: BCherry Books

 

Summary (Goodreads):

Moments.

Our lives are a collection of moments. Some utterly painful and full of yesterday’s hurts. Some beautifully hopeful and full of tomorrow’s promises.

I’ve had many moments in my lifetime, moments that changed me, challenged me. Moments that scared me and engulfed me. However, the biggest ones—the most heartbreaking and breathtaking ones—all included him.

I was ten years old when I lost my voice. A piece of me was stolen away, and the only person who could truly hear my silence was Brooks Griffin. He was the light during my dark days, the promise of tomorrow, until tragedy found him. Tragedy that eventually drowned him in a sea of memories.

This is the story of a boy and girl who loved each other, but didn’t love themselves. A story of life and death. Of love and broken promises.

Of moments.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

Where do I begin? I have to sit back and think of words but nothing came out. I’m stunned and still nursing a book hangover. Goddamn it. The Silent Waters is so beautiful I shed sad and happy tears it became my instant favorite. For me, this is by far Brittainy Cherry’s best book she’d written. She told the story gradually but surely engaging because it begins from their childhood up to adulthood. The character and relationship developments are exceptional. I guarantee you’ll fall in love with Maggie May Riley and Brooks Tyler Griffin.

 

“Not all broken things need to be fixed. Sometimes they just need to be loved. It would be a shame if only people who were whole were deserving of love.”

Maggie is happy when her father found the love of his life. She have a new family, a mom and siblings andven happier when she met her stepbrother’s best friend, Brooks, whom she grew a crush. The early chapters started really cute and fluffy between them. I laughed when Maggie chases him around and Brooks tried to distance himself because he’s so annoyed she wants to play house with him. It reminds me of Flipped then The Sea of Tranquility vibe when a life altering event changes their lives. It’s heart-wrenching for all of them to see Maggie traumatized, broken and frozen by fear. She undergone therapies and she learned to communicate in other ways. Still, it’s not the way her family expected and it brought a strained relationship to her family. They’re walking on eggshells around her but there’s one person who seems to understand her more than the rest…

 

“When you loved someone, you let them fly away, even if you weren’t on the same flight. “It’s not fair,” she said. “Because the way he looks at you, and the way you look at him—that’s my dream.”

Maggie and Brooks had a rough. I love how their friendship grew slowly until their feelings for each other developed. I’m afraid I can’t give much away. I recommend you jump into this blind and enjoy every moment. My heart is in a puddle for Brooks Tyler Griffin. He’s a sweet, thoughtful and gentle soul. OMG. I SWOON OVER HIM ON EVERYTHING. His patience, love and understanding for Maggie was incredibly touching. No matter what, he’ll always be there for her and will sacrifice everything for her.

The thing about I love Maggie, she’s expressive and vibrant in her own way. She lost herself on books, the music Brooks shared with her and despite of the pain, she continues living. Hoping she’ll be better and strong enough to face her darkest moments. She’s selfless, strong and forgiving at heart. She didn’t deprive Brooks on opportunities to reach his dreams even if it means of leaving home. She too has dreams and someday, she’ll reach it.

I love the side characters played a part in this story and Mrs. Boone is my favorite. She might come sarcastic at first and just like Brooks, she never gave up on Maggie. She was her friend and like a second mother. Her story was heartbreaking too. She was also an instrumental to make Brooks and Maggie’s relationship stronger and as individuals, she encouraged them to be strong-willed individuals.

Lastly, I love Brittainy Cherry’s note in the end. It’s deep, insightful and inspiring. Thank you for sharing this beautiful story and continue to inspire people to not be afraid to speak out. I recommend this book to everyone.

b

 

One thought on “The Silent Waters by Brittainy C. Cherry

  1. I read The Gravity of Us by the author and I LOVED IT. I’ve got the other books of the series and have so far read the first book, which was really good but didn’t match up to The Gravity of Us. Hoping the rest of the books will be 5/5 for me as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

