The Fire Between High & Lo by Brittainy C. Cherry

TFBHLPages: 324

Goodreads Rating: 4.14 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: March 25th 2016

Publisher: BCherry Books

 

Summary (Goodreads):

There once was a boy, and I loved him.

Logan Francis Silverstone was the complete opposite of me. I danced while he stood still. He was quiet, and I was always running my mouth. He struggled to find a smile while I refused to frown.

The night I saw the darkness that truly lived inside of him, I couldn’t look away.

We were broken together, yet somehow whole. We were wrong together, but always right. We were the stars that burned across the night sky, searching for a wish, praying for better tomorrows.

Until the day I lost him. He threw us away with one hasty decision—a decision that changed us forever.

There once was a boy, and I loved him.

And for a few breaths, a few whispers, a few moments, I think he loved me, too.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

“Love wasn’t a blessing, it was a curse, and once you invited it into your heart, it only left scorch.”

The Fire Between High & Lo may not be as good as the first book, it’s still a promising and heart-wrenching story about redemption and second chances. Once again, I’m allured by Brittainy C. Cherry’s writing style and no doubt this book is just beautifully written. The story is about Alyssa Walters and Logan Silverstone. They’re best friends who have fallen in love, fell apart and rekindled their love.

Alyssa and Logan are opposites when it comes to personality and financial status but they’re similar on having a dysfunctional family. Alyssa’s mother is an attorney and sometimes she’s suffocated from her being a perfectionist. Logan’s parents’ are worse. A drug addict mother and an abusive father. These factors didn’t become a hindrance and their friendship is tight knit.

When their friendship grew to something more, they felt the bliss until something happened that torn them apart. Logan decided to go to rehabilitation, leave Alyssa and his home for good.

“Through all of the pain, tears and destruction, somehow our love for one another survived. Somehow we were still connected.

My people.
My family.
My tribe.
Somehow, we were unbreakable.

Logan returns five years later and one way or another, he’ll see Alyssa. Both of them change through the years except for the love they have. It’s still there but they need to figure things out and talk about unresolved issues.

I like Logan but I’m frustrated he left her hanging after all these years and now he’s back, he’s being hot and cold towards Alyssa. God, I know he doesn’t want to hurt her again and I wish he’s not being and overdramatic jerk. He redeemed himself in the end when he got his shit together. I really like Alyssa’s character more than Logan’s. Through ups and downs, she sincerely reaches out to Logan though he constantly pushes her away. I love her patience, kindness and loyalty.

Honestly, it’s not their story that made me emotional but Kellan and Erika’s. It’s Logan’s half brother and Alyssa’s sister, though they’re side characters, a glimpse of their story saved my frustrations. They’ve been in a tough situation and conquered it. Kellan played a big role to Logan’s life. He’s a loving and protective big brother. Instead of 3.5 stars, I’ll give it 4 because the last part is the saving point and that one made me cry.

b

2 thoughts on “The Fire Between High & Lo by Brittainy C. Cherry

Leave a Reply

