The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry

TAHBPages: 308

Goodreads Rating: 4.22 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: September 15th 2015

Publisher: BCherry Books

Summary (Goodreads):

I was warned about Tristan Cole. “Stay away from him,” people said. “He’s cruel.” “He’s cold.” “He’s damaged.”

It’s easy to judge a man because of his past. To look at Tristan and see a monster. But I couldn’t do that. I had to accept the wreckage that lived inside of him, because it also lived inside of me.

We were both empty. We were both looking for something else. Something more. We both wanted to put together the shattered pieces of our yesterdays. Then perhaps we could finally remember how to breathe.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

Ever since I’ve read Loving Mr. Daniels, I knew I’m going to read more of Ms. Brittainy C. Cherry’s books. Her writing style is alluring and she’s one of the authors I considered a gem in the New Adult genre for writing emotionally stirring stories. The Air He Breathes is a breathtaking and poignant story about Tristan Cole and Elizabeth Bailey. Both experienced of losing the people they love leaving them broken, lost and vulnerable.

“No soulmate leaves the world alone; they always take a piece of their other half along with them.”

After a horrific accident which took her husband’s life, Elizabeth’s heart shattered and grieved his untimely death. She and her five year old daughter, Emma stayed on her mother’s for months while coping on the loss. It’s difficult for her but with Emma’s presence, it gives her enough strength to face the reality going home without her daughter’s father and start a new life.

While driving their way home, she accidentally bumped into a dog and she meets its owner, Tristan. These two didn’t get along at first because Tristan is an asshole. She makes an effort engaging him to little conversations until he slowly opens up. It turns out he’s damaged and has a similar experience as hers. They started as friends though the attraction between them is palpable, they tried to suppress it because they’re not ready. Somewhere along the way, their chemistry becomes stronger and both gave in as it leads to more.

“You don’t have to be good all the times. It’s okay to be hurt sometimes. It’s okay to feel lost like you’re wandering around in the dark. It’s the bad days that make the good ones so much better.”

I admire Elizabeth as a heroine. She’s tough, resilient and understanding. There are moments she wants to fall apart but I really like how she keeps herself together for her Emma sake. I love how she patiently getting to know Tristan and listen to his stories when no one else does. Tristan may be a jerk at first but he’s really a sweet and thoughtful guy. I love the moments when he bonds with Emma like she’s his daughter. She calls him Tick while he calls her Tock. It’s so freaking adorable and it made me smile. As a couple, I love Elizabeth and Tristan bared their souls for each other. They may have misunderstandings that hurt them both, I like the passionate, slow burn romance they shared. It’s very swoon-worthy. I’m glad these two found happiness and love again with each other.

“You know that place between nightmares and dreams? The place where tomorrows never come and yesterdays don’t hurt anymore? The place where your heart beats in sync with mine? The place where time doesn’t exist, and it’s easy to breathe?
I want to live there with you.”

Despite its predictability, I love the story. The moments that broke my heart and made cry as well as moments that made me giggle. They’re all precious. I figured out the plot twist about the accident and I knew I couldn’t trust Tanner. Especially with those advances, I’m wary of him. That sleazy, backstabbing bastard. I sobbed when Tristan revealed the shed to Elizabeth and can we just talk about the feathers too? It’s touching of him to do it for Emma. Aside from sassy Emma, Faye (Elizabeth’s best friend) made me laugh so hard on all her innuendos! I’m definitely continuing the series and my tissues on standby (just in case).

b

Leave a Reply

