Nudes by Sarah Robinson

NNNPages: 276

Goodreads Rating: 4.48 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: May 22nd 2017

Publisher: Season Publishing

Summary (Goodreads):

Author of bestselling contemporary romances like the Kavanagh Legends series, Sarah Robinson brings readers a new standalone novel set in the glamorous hills of Hollywood and tackling challenging themes like the intersection of sexuality and female empowerment.

Ben Lawson is making a comeback…
After a few tabloid headlines, they think they know me. They don’t know a damn thing.  As CEO of a movie production company, I’ll show them who I really am when we hit it big at the box office. My ex thought her smear tactics would ruin me, but I’m unbreakable. Rising from the debris, I swore I’d never let a woman distract me like that again. But then, my leading actress walked on the set and changed everything.

Seductive, sexy, and unapologetic, Aria Rose could break me. I wanted to help her, protect her…love her. Instead, I destroyed her.

Aria Rose is baring it all….
I knew better. I knew not to trust another Hollywood heartthrob with a reputation like his. He was my boss and became my ruin. I should have stayed far away from him. Ben Lawson promised me the world. He even promised me his heart.

But he destroyed everything–my heart, my career, us.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

I received an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Nudes is a love story between a newly appointed CEO of Shepherd Film Studios , Ben Lawson and a new rising actress, Aria Rose / Aria Reynolds. They met on the last shooting of Aria’s upcoming film Scarlet’s Letters. Weeks later the chemistry sizzled between them especially on the romantic weekend they have. However, their relationship crashes because of one scandal: A leaked photo of Aria’s naked body. It tainted the movie company and Aria’s reputation and put her career at stake.

I really enjoyed it. It’s greatly written and the story isn’t just about romance. It centers on slut shaming and body shaming and the message implied in this book is relevant, realistic and inspiring. Ben is a good male protagonist who loves Aria dearly. I cannot say the scandal isn’t his fault, partly he is at fault here [I will explain why and it will be spoiler section]. He sincerely apologizes to her and took legal responsibility of this mess. What he did in the end proved that no matter what happens, he’ll always be there for her.

SPOILER SECTION:

*Highlight to view spoiler*Ben’s Fault: He signed an approval from the director about the release of photos for the company’s upcoming movie without DOUBLE NOR TRIPLE CHECKING EVERYTHING. He didn’t see the nude photos until it was posted in the internet. Since he signed it, Aria thought he saw the nude photos and approved it to be released.  Lesson learned: Think twice or thrice before signing.

It’s not Ben’s Fault: It was the sleazy director / Aria’s ex-boyfriend who intentionally leaked the photo without consent to shame Aria and used Ben as his pawn to shadow his evil plan. He’s mad and jealous she dumped him over Ben. I’m glad she dumped him because he’s a bully for calling her bad names. What an abusive a-hole.  

Take note: Aria didn’t fell in love with the person who leaked her nude photos. *End of spoiler*

Aria is a strong heroine. People may shamed and make wrong judgments about her, it almost destroy her career and lose her confidence but she doesn’t let those define her. Instead, she handled those criticisms and hate comments with class and continue to live what she loves. To end my review, here’s my favorite line from the heroine:

“Judge me for my spirit. Judge me for my attitude. Judge me for my talent on the silver screen, but don’t judge me for being a victim. I’m not, and you won’t make me.”

b

Leave a Reply

