This Isn’t You, Baby by K. Webster

TIYBPages: 212

Goodreads Rating: 4.48 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4.5 / 5 stars

Genre: Adult, Dark Romance, Erotica

Publication Date: October 25th 2016

Publisher: Self published

Summary (Goodreads):

I was a pawn.
Weak and someone easily manipulated.
To be played with as he saw fit.
Until YOU.

YOU shone light in my now dark world.
It was YOU who made me smile.
For the first time in this game, I had hope.
All because of YOU.

The more powerful pieces on the board, however, were a threat to YOU and me.
They would win at any cost.
Two kings ruling with an iron fist.
Allies or opponents, it was hard to tell.

YOU promised to save me.
Told me we would win.

But then I was on the wrong side of the board.
This isn’t YOU, baby.
And I don’t know what to do.

The game is almost over and I’m counting on YOU.
Tick, tock…

Warning:
This Isn’t You, Baby is a dark romance. Strong sexual themes, excessive drug use, and violence, which could trigger emotional distress, are found in this story. If you are sensitive to dark themes, then this story is not for YOU.

This story will make YOU smile.
This story will make YOU angry.
This story will make YOU crazy.

I hope YOU love it, baby.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

Trigger Warning: This dark romance novel contains scenes such as violence, sex, abuse, drugs, and profanity. This book / series will put you out of your comfort zone and it’s not for everyone.

Before Gabe Sharpe fell in love with a psychopath like him, he was in a relationship with another woman and they have a child together. Her name is Gabriella Sharpe and this is her story.

When Brie Sharpe was abandoned by her father to be with the woman who brutally murdered her mother, she was adopted by Heath Berkley and it turns out he’s lusting over her. His perverted stepfather and Camilio Rojas, head of the Colombian drug syndicate, want to strengthen their ties by having their children in arranged marriage. It is decided Brie will be marrying Duvan Rojas but she’s in love with Ren Loveland (view spoiler).

What she didn’t know: Ren isn’t really an ordinary lawn boy. Ren is actually looking out for her and make sure she’s safe. Also, being involved with him makes their family ties CRAZIER.

I took a break from this series to recover myself from all the craziness happened on the previous book (including those fucking Cucumbers and thank goodness this book doesn’t have one! >:) bwaha!) which happens to be the darkest and the most twisted so far. Now my mood is back and swift through this book, I anticipated that somehow it will be lighter and I was right but as the story progresses…..oh my god, I was WRONG especially when I reached the ending. Brie went through a lot in the hands of Esteban (Duvan’s traitorous brother). She’s abused and drugged and her road to recovery wasn’t easy. She deserves happiness and peace.

I’m already happy with the direction of the story and last minute, K. Webster TURNED THE FUCKING TABLES. HOLY FREAKING SHIT. I’m like: “YOU’VE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME! *jaw drops*…. NO…..WAAAHHH NOOOO*more frustrated screaming* GET OUT BRIEEEEE!!… OH SHHHHHIII…. WTF” (Kindly excuse my reaction. I can’t help it!) It’s a bittersweet ending and I want to know what happens next for Brie. (view spoiler)

If you love twisted and gritty dark romance novels, K. Webster’s books are a must read.

Final rating: 4.5 / 5 stars

b

4 thoughts on “This Isn’t You, Baby by K. Webster

Leave a Reply

