Crown of Lies by Pepper Winters

CoLPages: 313

Goodreads Rating: 4.31 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: Adult, Erotica, Suspense, Dark Romance

Publication Date: January 31st 2017

Publisher: Self published

Summary (Goodreads):

THREE YEARS
Since I ran away for the night, danced in New York streets, and almost got killed in an alley by two thieves. Until he showed up and saved me.

THREE DAYS
Since I threw a drink at the man my father expected me to marry, then found myself slammed against a wall with Penn Everett’s seductive voice whispering a proposal I couldn’t refuse.

THREE HOURS
To fall into hate with the man who reminded me of so many things and hid so much behind his lies. He couldn’t be the man who saved me three years ago…but there’s something so familiar…

THREE MINUTES
For our relationship to switch from no-strings to marriage. He announced it to my father—he’s ecstatic. He told my friends—they’re shocked. But he didn’t ask me, he commanded me—and I’m livid.

THREE SECONDS
For his lies to slowly steal my heart and make me believe, hope…trust.

THREE BREATHS
For his truth to destroy me

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

At an early age Noelle / Elle Charlston has been trained by her father as a successor on their family business (Belle Elle). Though she’s wealthy and sheltered for her whole life, she worked hard to attain the spot but it sacrificed her freedom to do things she wanted to. On her 19th birthday, she wanted to relax and get outside of work environment. So she decides to explore the city on her own and just taste to live freely. No pressure, no work, no one to please but herself. Unaware of her surroundings, danger lies ahead as two men tried to hurt her and was luckily saved by a man whom she called “Nameless”. They shared intimate moments in a short time and parted ways.

“Thieves can become saints. Saints can become thieves.”

Three years later, Noelle still remembers the kiss she shared with “Nameless”. She tried to find him and no sheer luck of where he is. Her life changed as a persistent, mysterious and sexy man stumbled her path. Penn Everett is an enigma she couldn’t resists and something lingers on the back of her mind but she’s not sure about it. It’s a battle between truths and lies.

“That was the problem with being guarded. People with lies could never make friends. But people with trust could never make enemies. Both are weak.”

Unlike Monsters in the Dark and Indebted series, this book isn’t as dark as I’ve thought. It leans more on the suspect aspect and I really like it because of where the story is heading. However, it started really slow until I reached 45% mark wherein it starts to pick up. The romance is sizzling hot and PENN EVERETT = HOLY SMOKES HOT. He has a lot of secrets to reveal and I’m eager to know his real story. Elle is a wonderful heroine. She’s not a spoiled brat and handles difficult situations maturely. As for the plot twist, it’s still good but I’m not convince on the last part….yet. Because *Highlight to view spoiler: I’m holding on my guess that PENN = NAMELESS dude. He’s definitely not one of the two abusers. *End

P.S.
Someone feed Greg to the Crocodiles.

b

 

2 thoughts on “Crown of Lies by Pepper Winters

Leave a Reply

