Sustained by Emma Chase

SEC.jpgPages: 267

Goodreads Rating: 4.36 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: August 25th 2015

Publisher: Gallery Books

Summary (Goodreads):

A knight in tarnished armor is still a knight.

When you’re a defense attorney in Washington, DC, you see firsthand how hard life can be, and that sometimes the only way to survive is to be harder. I, Jake Becker, have a reputation for being cold, callous, and intimidating—and that suits me just fine. In fact, it’s necessary when I’m breaking down a witness on the stand.

Complications don’t work for me—I’m a “need-to-know” type of man. If you’re my client, tell me the basic facts. If you’re my date, stick to what will turn you on. I’m not a therapist or Prince Charming—and I don’t pretend to be.

Then Chelsea McQuaid and her six orphaned nieces and nephews came along and complicated the ever-loving hell out of my life. Now I’m going to Mommy & Me classes, One Direction concerts, the emergency room, and arguing cases in the principal’s office.

Chelsea’s too sweet, too innocent, and too gorgeous for her own good. She tries to be tough, but she’s not. She needs someone to help her, defend her…and the kids.

And that — that, I know how to do.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

Sustained has taken me by surprise and it’s a huge step up from the previous book. It’s cute, romantic and crazy hilarious. I think I get why most people I knew adore this book the most in the series. The story is about Jake Becker and Chelsea McQuaid and it’s written in Jake’s pov. (You can never go wrong when Emma Chase writes in male pov.)

Jake Becker is a criminal defense lawyer. He’s sharp, driven and remorseless in court but he’s a man who isn’t into relationships and the last thing he wants was complications. When he was young, he’s troubled boy and a Judge sets him straight. He owes his success to him and every weekend, he visits Judge Atticus Faulkner in a nursing home. His life changed when he caught a young boy stole his wallet and he reminds of himself in this boy. He takes him home after their serious talk and there he meets his aunt, Chelsea.

Chelsea’s brother and his wife were instantly killed in a vehicular and leaving their kids under her care. Acting as a parent to her nephews and nieces takes a lot of responsibility. She loved them but handling the kids by herself can be exhausting and overwhelming. Concerned with her problems, Jake initiatively helps her taking care of the kids. He didn’t expect to be attached with them and later on, he starts to develop feelings with their aunt. The question: Is he ready for commitment?

I’m incredibly touched with Jake Becker. He’s sweet, patient, protective and thoughtful. He’s definitely a BOOK HUSBAND and I fell in love with him more when he’s with the kids. Though it wasn’t his responsibility, he genuinely wants to help and not just to impress someone. HE’S SO DAMN GOOD WITH THE KIDS. *I have heart eyes for him* It’s obvious he’s attracted with Chelsea because she’s humble, loving, selfless, caring and responsible. She gives her best to hold the kids together when they’re falling apart. Jake and Chelsea have an amazing chemistry and both are great as a couple and individuals.

The McQuaid kids can be messy at times but these little rascals grew on me. They are all hilarious and adorable in their own ways. Out of the six kids, Regan was my favorite. She’s the cutest and most adorable. I’ll hi this kid forever. 😉 If you know what I mean.

b

Leave a Reply

