Love, Hate and Other Lies We Told by Deirdre Riordan Hall

LHAOLWT.jpgPages: 364

Goodreads Rating: 3.26 / 5 stars

My Rating: 3 /5 stars

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: January 17th 2017

Publisher: Self Published

Summary (Goodreads):

Let go from her job and feeling lost, Navy Carrington takes a position as coffee-girl at a publicity firm. Their newest client is Carrick Kennely, the former love of her life and her fiercest adversary. She thought she’d let go of the past by playing it safe with book boyfriends—and avoiding frustratingly sexy guys like Carrick.

When Navy’s roommate finds the Boyfriend Book, a silly relic leftover from Navy’s teens, it prompts a dare; Navy is to go on five dates and pick one to be her Valentine. Despite her reservations, she can’t say no, especially if it means proving to herself and Carrick that she can move on.

Navy chronicles her brief romantic entanglements with the Hottie in 7G, the Man-Bun-Barista, the Gym Stud, and the Book Boyfriend who turns out to be a toad—not the kind that when kissed turns into a prince—, on The Boyfriend Book Blog. She doesn’t want to let her readers or herself down, but as Valentine’s Day nears, none of the guys comes close to being her one true love.

Except Carrick. He’s infuriating, attractive, confusing, catnip…and it turns out he has a secret.

With a love letter and a plane ticket in hand, Navy leaves her baggage behind and must decide between love, hate, and the lies she told to protect her fragile heart.

Told with humor and heart, Love, Hate, and Other Lies We Told may appeal to readers who enjoy Alice Clayton, Sally Thorne, and Emily Giffin’s work.

My Review:

I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.

It’s a good and quick read but I have mixed feelings towards it. Navy Carrington works on a new publicity firm after she’s cut off from the old job she truly enjoyed. She’s living with her best friend, Katya who is sassy, optimistic and carefree. Unlike her, she’s a little broken because she can’t let go of her past as her High School boyfriend cheated on her. It breaks her heart that her best friend, Claire and her brother, Carrick whom she had a crush on and her boyfriend’s best friend, knew he cheated except her. Since Claire died from an accident, she felt guilty of being mad and as for Carrick, there’s no closure between them.

Katya being a concerned best friend encourages Navy to live a little by dating five guys and she’ll pick one by Valentine’s Day. Navy enjoys her casual dates and by some fate, Carrick Kennely is a client on her work place and somehow wants to rekindle. It’s his chance to apologize and he’s willing to do everything for her and spill his secrets he kept for a long time. Her heart wants him but is she ready to give her heart to a man who broke it before?

It’s a good and quick read but I have mixed feelings towards it. Their story is sweet but I find it a little overdramatic. Often times it’s cheesy. The chemistry between Navy and Carrick is good but I was hoping for more. As for Navy’s best friend, I wasn’t a huge fan of her. Yeah it’s nice to have a best friend who’ll encourage you to live a life and do things out of your comfort zone but I wish Kat didn’t pressure her too much and let Navy do things in her pace. There are times she annoyed me for being too nosy. On the positive note, I like the ending, the writing style is good and I think this second chance romance has a potential despite of my little issues.

Final rating: 3 / 5

b

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s