My 20 Favorite Books / Series of 2016

It’s time to wrap up with my favorite books or series (I binge) read this year. This is probably the most challenging year to rank my favorite books / series so far because they’re amazing and it overwhelmed me. I will count series as one because I just can’t separate them. Haha! Some authors have multiple entries on this list.  πŸ˜‰

GiP

  • #20 – Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow | An eye opening debut novel about self-harm. The character’s emotions are raw and it feels real. It’s a must read.

TGi6E

  • #19 – The Girl in 6E by A.R. Torre | Deanna Madden is one fascinating anti-heroine. She is a creepy character because of her urge to kill someone and I still find her badass in some ways.. Alessandra Torre is really good at writing suspense/thrillers.

LM

  • #18 – Ladies Man by Katy Evans | This is such a guilty pleasure read. Tahoe and Gina’s story is so cute. Of course, Katy Evans’s knows how to make her readers swoon over her male leads πŸ˜‰

Misconduct_CV.indd

  • #17 – Misconduct by Penelope Douglas | Penelope Douglas is great at writing love stories with angst and steamy romance. Aside from these, it has family drama and issues, modern education, politics etc.. It’s really entertaining and complex.

mpke

  •  #16 – Mr. President by Katy Evans | Damn, this political romance is so sexy and Matthew Hamilton is …. *fan yourself* I just want Commander in Chief. ASAP.

thost

  • #15 – The Host by Stephenie Meyer | Honestly, Stephenie Meyer should continue writing sequels for The Host. The love triangle here is well done, it’s not annoying and I love the slow burn romance in this book. It has so much potential and I find it better than the Twilight Saga.

TLTWSG

  • #14 – The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand | An emotional story about grief. It’s well-written and my goodness, tears are shed in this book. Cythia Hand’s writing style is really good and I’m looking forward to read more of her books.

TS

  • #13 – The Suffering by Rin Chupeco | A fantastic horror sequel and conclusion! I swear, it didn’t put me to sleep. It really scared the heck out of me. This is like The Grudge / The Ring book version. Okiku is my favorite ghost.

saga

  • #12 – Saga Series by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples | I don’t usually read graphic novels but Saga series captivated me. I love the story, characters and artwork. Hazel is my favorite character, she’s so cute and brilliant!

sempp

  • #11 – Sempre Duology by J.M. Darhower | If you want to dive in to Mafia-themed books, I recommend this duology. This is a love story between a slave and a mafia prince. Unlike the other mafia books I’ve read, this is less violent and all the characters played their role in the story. The sequel focuses more on the mafia aspect than romance.

monsterinhis

  • #10 – Monster in His Eyes trilogy by J.M. Darhower | Another entry for J.M. Darhower. She’s so good at writing mafia books (this is my obsession along with sports romance. haha) and Monsters in His Eyes trilogy takes on a darker turn about love, lies, revenge, betrayal and grief.  Ignazio Vitale and Karissa Reed have an awesome chemistry and the romance between them is HOT. Goodbye Ovaries!

WH

  • #9 – Wicked Heart by Leisa Rayven |  One of my favorite book covers this year. Leisa Rayven once again made me swoon with Liam Quinn and Elissa Holt’s story. MY GODDAMN FEELS. I WANT MORE LEISA RAYVEN BOOKS.

ODS

  • #8 – One Day Soon by A. Meredith Walters | If there’s another author who writes beautiful and emotional stories, it’s definitely A. Meredith Walters. Last year, one of her books made it to my favorites and it’s no wonder this is a win. One Day Soon is one of the best emotional stories I’ve read this year. I WEPT!

N9

  • #7 – November 9 by Colleen Hoover | I find the concept in this book unique and I enjoy its plot twist. Also, it was an emotional roller coaster. Ben Kessler ❀ ❀ ❀

TSEK

  • #6 – The Score by Elle Kennedy | For the love of Hockey players, Elle Kennedy knows how to do it. Of course Dean Heyward Di Laurentis is included here…and Winston. ;)) HAHAHAHA! PINK WINSTON.

Yoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.indd

  • #5 – The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon | This is my first Nicola Yoon book and I love it! The story is heartwarming, cute and compelling. It also tackles about immigrants, racism and culture.

p57

  • #4 – Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas | This book gave me a bad book hangover. I am speechless on how amazing this book is. The characters are flawed and they did things that will make you hate them. However, both have an amazing character and relationship development. In the end, they learned their mistakes and redeem themselves by doing what’s right. Also, sexual tension = Off-the-Freaking-Charts!

royals

  • #3 – The Royals trilogy by Erin Watt | This debut trilogy has the craziest cliffhangers EVER. I don’t know how many times I cursed while reading and the plot twists… . Jaw droppers. I almost drop my e-reader. Hands down to Erin Watt a.k.a Elle Kennedy and Jen Frederick! I can’t wait for them to write more books.

IEWU

  • #2 – It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover | I really enjoyed most of Colleen Hoover’s books because of the romance and the emotions it bring to her readers. However, It Ends With Us is different among her books. It’s not a romance novel but women’s fiction. It’s thought provoking and it tests your decision making as this book lets you step in a difficult situation. Life has no trigger warnings and there are some things you don’t expect. With its realistic ending, it’s a win for me.

ITCOK1

  • #1 – In the Company of Killers series by J.A. Redmerski | Without any doubt, this series reigned supreme for me this year and automatically became my all time favorites. It’s a mafia/assassin themed and romantic suspense series. Each book keeps getting better, the plot twists are intense, unpredictable and mind blowing and the characters are ALL freaking BADASS. It’s action packed, and thrilling. It never failed to put me on the edge of my seat and hold on to dear life. πŸ˜‰ #AssassinSquadGoals

These are my top reads of 2016. Have you read any of these?  Let me know your top reads this year and if you have a post, feel free to share your links πŸ™‚ Happy Holidays lovely bookworms! πŸ™‚

b

15 thoughts on “My 20 Favorite Books / Series of 2016

  1. Great choices, Bea! I really loved The Sun is Also a Star and It Ends With Us, and I have a soft spot for The Royals (though that third book is underwhelming, so sad). And I really want to pick up Saga – I’ve been reading a bit more graphic novels lately (2 instead of my usual 0) and that seems to be a really popular one. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m happy to see The Host in your list of faves, Beatrice. And I agree with you, Stephenie definitely needs to release the sequel soon! I want more O’Wanda moments (Ian x Wanda). And I’ve read J.A Redmerski’s The Edge of Never and I remember enjoying it (and weeping because of the twist in the book) so I’m pretty I’ll love her In the Company of Killers series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

