Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas

p57Pages: 371

Goodreads Rating: 4.31 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: October 21st

Publisher: Self published

Summary (Goodreads):

“We were perfect together. Until we met.”

Misha

I can’t help but smile at the words in her letter. She misses me.

In fifth grade, my teacher set us up with pen pals from a different school. Thinking I was a girl, with a name like Misha, the other teacher paired me up with her student, Ryen. My teacher, believing Ryen was a boy like me, agreed.

It didn’t take long for us to figure out the mistake. And in no time at all, we were arguing about everything. The best take-out pizza. Android vs. iPhone. Whether or not Eminem is the greatest rapper ever…

And that was the start. For the next seven years, it was us.

Her letters are always on black paper with silver writing. Sometimes there’s one a week or three in a day, but I need them. She’s the only one who keeps me on track, talks me down, and accepts everything I am.

We only had three rules. No social media, no phone numbers, no pictures. We had a good thing going. Why ruin it?

Until I run across a photo of a girl online. Name’s Ryen, loves Gallo’s pizza, and worships her iPhone. What are the chances?

F*ck it. I need to meet her.

I just don’t expect to hate what I find.

Ryen

He hasn’t written in three months. Something’s wrong. Did he die? Get arrested? Knowing Misha, neither would be a stretch.

Without him around, I’m going crazy. I need to know someone is listening. It’s my own fault. I should’ve gotten his number or picture or something.

He could be gone forever.

Or right under my nose, and I wouldn’t even know it.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

My list of favorite books this year is officially reshuffled. Punk 57 rendered me speechless and there is no way I’m not including this book on my favorite books of 2016. I’m still nursing a book hangover of how amazing the story is as it left a great lesson in the end.

Misha Lare and Ryen Trevarrow are childhood pen pals for seven years since their 5th grade teachers paired them up. They came from different towns and despite of the distance, their friendship grew well as they exchange words, sharing ideas about music and song writing since Misha is part of a band. These two haven’t meet personally and to think it’s easier for them to communicate and look for each other in social media, they promised each other not to in order to preserve the friendship they have. By fate, Misha have crossed paths with Ryen at a party. Curiosity kills, he looked for her in the social media to confirm he really met his childhood friend. He was mesmerized by her beauty but that changed when he goes to her school as Masen Laurent. Seeing her mean and hanging out with bastards makes her a complete stranger to him. It surprised him that this girl is opposite to the one he knew in letters. Though he has a different intention on coming to her school, he believes the “real” Ryen is hiding and he’s willing to intimidate her just to see the glimpse of her real side.

The story started off necessarily slow, brewing the tension between the main characters. It’s raw, intense and filled with angst. At first, these two tested my patience. Ryen is a pretentious, gutless bitch but I understood why she’s doing this. She’s doesn’t want to get hurt anymore by being alone and left out by peers. Even if she has to be mean just to be “in” the crowd and please everyone, she’ll do it. While Misha is a provocative asshole. As they exchange hateful words with each other, the sexual tension and chemistry between them slowly rises up. OH. MY. GOODNESS. The romance and sexy times are ON FIRE and OFF-THE-FREAKING-CHARTS-HOT! They may be flawed but I’m amazed by their character and relationship development as they learned their lessons.I love how bullying is tackled in this book and its relevance to the society. As for the PLOT TWIST, Wow.. That just came out of nowhere and I didn’t see that one coming.

Overall, I love this book and once again, Penelope Douglas just nailed it. Hands down to this powerful and beautifully written book! Here are my favorite quotes in this book:

“We’re all ugly, Ryen. The only difference is, some hide it and some wear it.”

“You’re not alone. It gets better. You are important, and you can’t be replaced. Hang on.”

b

2 thoughts on “Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas

Leave a Reply

