Torture to Her Soul by J.M. Darhower

TtHS.jpgPages: 394

Goodreads Rating: 4.23 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Genre: New Adult, Romantic Suspense, Dark

Publication Date: September 29, 2014

Publisher: Self Published

Summary (Goodreads):

Don’t say it unless you mean it…

It’s a simple concept, one I’ve said time and again, but something people don’t seem to comprehend. You should choose every syllable carefully, because you never know when somebody will hold you to your word.

Somebody like me.

I’m not a good man. I’m not. I know. I have enough darkness inside of me to rid the world of every stitch of light. But there’s one I could never harm, one light I couldn’t bring myself to snuff out.

Karissa.

She thinks I’m a monster, and maybe I am. I taunt her with my touch, get a thrill out of torturing her soul. But I’m not the only one. The world is full of monsters, and I’m not the most dangerous one out there.

Not even close…

God help me, I love her.

I do.

And God help anyone who tries to take her from me.

My Review: 

Review also posted on Goodreads

Torture to Her Soul begins from the end of the previous book and it’s told in Ignazio Vitale’s point of view. At first, I find it difficult to connect with his story. Maybe because its tone is darker and more melodramatic than Karissa’s. As the chapters go on, I slowly immersed on his narration and it somewhat grew on me.

“People make mistakes. They do things sometimes that you don’t like, that you wouldn’t do. But that doesn’t mean you should give up on them, that you should write them off. Because nobody is hopeless as long as they’re still breathing.”

Revelations, lies and betrayals damaged his relationship with Karissa. What he did was unforgivable and it sparked her hate and anger towards him. He’s being patient on moments she pushed his buttons. He understands the hurt she’s feeling and gives her the space she needs. Despite of the silent treatment and distance between them, he truly loves her and deep down she’s feeling the same way. It’s not an easy journey for them to work out their relationship and gained each others trust.

His past made him a vulnerable, broken man. He will not forgive himself and the people who caused his love ones death. A part of him died and he will never be the same again. He’s going to have revenge and there’s a lot to pay. Unexpectedly, Karissa is an innocent, sweet and loving woman he never thought of. Despite of her bloodline, she gave him light to his darkness. He lived being with her and instead of killing her, he fell in love with her and he will do everything to keep her safe.

These two have amazing character developments. They handled their personal and relationship issues maturely. I love how Karissa accepts Naz’s flaws. His actions made him a bad guy but she believed that there’s goodness in him. I love Naz for being honest with his feelings, he doesn’t sugarcoat anything and bared it all. The chemistry between them is SIZZLING HOTTER than the first book. JALAPEÑO HOT. Goodness, I freaking love the romance between them. The last chapters are pretty intense and a little emotional. It also put me on the edge of my seat. The epilogue and the bonus scene was hands down amazing! This is truly a promising sequel.

b

Leave a Reply

