Target on Our Backs by J.M. Darhower

TooB.jpgPages: 357

Goodreads Rating: 4.47 / 5 stars

My Rating:  5 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult, Romantic Suspense, Dark

Publication Date: February 23, 2016

Publisher: Self Published

Summary (Goodreads):

The best way to keep your word is never to give it.

Not long ago, in a chapel in Vegas, I swore to love Karissa for the rest of my days. But nobody’s promised an infinite number of tomorrows. Nobody’s promised forever. Sometimes, all we have left is today.

Carpe Diem
Seize the day.

It should’ve been over, we should’ve been happy, but people are making it hard for me to live in peace. I’ve got so much blood on my hands they’ll never be clean, and somebody out there seems to want me to pay for it. Happily Ever After always comes at a cost, one any real man would be willing to pay. But that doesn’t mean I’m just going to roll over and accept these consequences.

Because when it comes to the woman I love? The life I’ve fought for?

Nobody is safe.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

This is an EPIC FINALE and I freaking love every moment! Out of the three books in Monster in His Eyes trilogy, this is the best one and it’s wrapped up perfectly. Unlike the previous books, Target on Our Backsis told in dual perspective. There’s more suspense, thrilling action, off-the-charts romance and mafia related events in this book. I can’t put this book down and I’m totally hooked with its story.

[Mild spoilers ahead.]

Naz promises to be a good man for Karissa and stay off from the dangerous lifestyle to protect her until his last breath. However, his past can’t be changed where he did bad things and there are moments he’s lured back into the old lifestyle especially when someone tries to hunt him down. As if he’ll let that happen. In every battle, he’s going to make sure hewins. Karissa is aware of his actions no matter how hard he tries to hide it. She is an understanding, patient, and genuine lady and she loves Naz despite of his flaws.

Naz and Karissa are adjusting on their married life. It will be forever etched on my mind that a tough assassin like Naz sets “Hotline Bling” by Drake as his ringtone. This man has a soft spot for Drake’s songs. Hahaha!! Hands DOWN! He’s still a merciless assassin by the way, I just can’t get over his ringtone. He’ll unleash hell if someone set a “Bieber twit” song as his ringtone — his words, not mine. Naz and Karissa’s chemistry is off the charts hot! It’s sexy, romantic, passionate and sweet. Ahhhh, I just love these two so much and I’ll miss them.

I have a strong fascination with this new character, Lorenzo Gambini. He’s badass and lethal. Damn this man, he throws a grenade like a party popper. I want more of him. I love his loyalty to Naz (though he can’t really trusts someone in the mafia world but I believe Lorenzo will not hurt Naz or his love ones at any cost).

Overall, this is an amazing conclusion to the trilogy. I’m satisfied with the epilogue and I’ll miss everything about this series. It’s nice to see them find a peaceful, happy life. They truly deserved one after all the heartaches and vendettas.

b

Leave a Reply

