This Is War, Baby by K. Webster

This Is War BabyPages: 261

Goodreads Rating: 4.22 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Genre: Adult, Erotica, Dark Romance

Publication Date: February 29, 2016

Publisher: Self-published

Summary (Goodreads):

My life had a plan. Until he invaded it and stole it all away. My captor took me and I became a pawn.

His strategy changed and he sent me away to WAR, because money is everything in this world.

In my WAR, though, I found peace.

I couldn’t help but find love where I least expected it, with a man who lived a battle every day of his life
…all inside his head.

But then my captor came back for me.
Yet, this time, battle lines had been drawn and I was protected.

So we thought.
Even though my WAR was raging,
my captor would fight to the death.

The good guys always win, right?
Not always.

All’s fair in love and WAR, right?
Not this time.

***WARNING***
This is War, Baby is a dark romance. A really dark one. So dark you’re going to wish you had a flashlight to see yourself to the end and someone to hold your hand. Human trafficking, dubious consent, and strong sexual themes that could trigger emotional distress are found in this story. This story is NOT for everyone.

My Review: 

Review also posted on Goodreads

Thank you NetGalley for providing an ARC  in exchange for an honest review.

Trigger Warning: This is a dark romance book. It has graphic scenes that will make you cringe.

Baylee Winstonis a high school student who was kidnapped by someone. In her bedroom, in front of her boyfriend.Someone who is close to her family and a person she used to look up to. Gabe trained and ruined Baylee (don’t get me into details.) beceause later on, he’s going to sell her on a sex ring for a big sum of money. I swear, it’s fucking scary and sick. It made me cringe and internally curse Gabe.

I feel so bad for the heroine experiencing all this. When she was bought by Warren “War” McPherson, she thought he was a sadistic man like Gabe. It turns out, he wasn’t. He’s kind, sweet but lonely, flawed and twisted. His mind was his enemy for years because of a traumatic past. It was sad and it breaks my heart. Without any doubt, this man just won me for being compassion and caring despite of his mental illness. Slowly, they get along with each other and Baylee adjusts on his lifestyle with sheer amount of patience, which I totally admire. I love their character and relationship development. It’s not abrupt and I root for these two till the end.

I will not give too much details of what happened to avoid spoilers. Let me just talk about the ending because holy fucking shit that FLOORED ME. THAT DAMN CLIFFHANGER WAS SHIT INSANE. I’m so gonna read the sequel now because I want to know what happens next. I truly think K. Webster is one of the best authors in writing dark romance books. Hands down.

B

2 thoughts on “This Is War, Baby by K. Webster

Leave a Reply

