It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

IEWUPages: 384

Goodreads Rating: 4.74 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: August 2, 2016

Publisher: Atria Books

Summary (Goodreads):

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

Thank you Atria for providing an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

I buddy read this book with sis Pearl — click to read her captivating review 🙂

To be honest, I still have a book hangover. It took me a while to organize my thoughts and come up with words. Most Colleen Hoover’s books are emotional and definitely will give you butterflies but this sets on a more serious, deeper emotional level. I’m seriously not prepared to any of this and diving into this blind is simply the best decision and just go with the flow. You better grab some tissues and pillows while reading this book and comfort food when you finished it. I’ll try my best not to give a spoiler.

Here are my naked truths about It Ends With Us:

– The story is so beautiful that it hurts too much. The message in this book left a huge impact as it centers on abusive relationships.
Lily Bloom’s emotions felt raw and real. I’m so torn between Atlas Corrigan; the homeless boy she first fell for and Ryle Kincaid; the gorgeous neurosurgeon she learned to love.
– Certainly, you will root for someone and I actually love this character but by 50% mark — BOOM. Everything changes and it slowly breaks my heart. It’s a difficult situation to be in especially when you love this character and grows in you. Seeing a glimpse of his dark side wants you to walk away yet, a part of you wants to stay because you love him so much. It’s harder to hate someone you love than hating a person you hate. We all have limits but how long does it take before it lasts?
– I AM A CRYING MESS AND MY EMOTIONS ARE ALL OVER THE PLACE. COMFORT FOOD IS A MUST.
I am satisfied with its ending. It may be a harsh reality but its necessary. At the same time, I can’t help feeling sad with the situation. I have so much respect for Lily’s character because her final decision takes guts to really do it.
The real story behind this book moved me. Make sure to read the author’s note after reading the book.
Overall, I love this book. It’s brilliantly written and not the typical romance. Definitely one of my favorites this year and this book dethrones November 9 as my favorite Colleen Hoover book. Hands down!

B

2 thoughts on “It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

