The Suffering by Rin Chupeco

TS.jpgPages: 313

Goodreads Rating: 4.22 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Horror

Publication Date: September 8, 2015

Publisher: Sourcebooks

Summary (Goodreads):

Seventeen-year-old Tark knows what it is to be powerless. But Okiku changed that. A restless spirit who ended life as a victim and started death as an avenger, she’s groomed Tark to destroy the wicked. But when darkness pulls them deep into Aokigahara, known as Japan’s suicide forest, Okiku’s justice becomes blurred, and Tark is the one who will pay the price…

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

An amazing sequel for The Girl from the Well. The plot is better and scarier than the first book. I was up at a rainy night and seriously gave me goosebumps. Rin Chupeco’s way of describing each scene gives an eerie ambiance and the ghosts really scared the batshit out of me!

Tarquin / Tark is a great hero and I love how it’s told in his perspective. He and Okiku shared this bond, together they hunt bad people to give justice to unrested souls and gave them peace. Okiku is my favorite ghost. Despite having a scary look [Sadako / Kayako look-alike — which is creepy af.], she is a good one and I can’t help loving her. Their quest begins when Kagura went missing in the forest of Aokigahara-known as “suicide forest”-along with American ghost hunters. Legends surround on the said forrest and these ghost hunters are about to find out.. until they’re lost.

I’ll stop here to avoid spoilers. Overall, I really love the adventure and ending. I highly recommend this book to everyone, especially if you’re looking for a YA Horror novel. GAH! I WANT MORE TARK AND OKIKU!!

B

3 thoughts on “The Suffering by Rin Chupeco

Leave a Reply

