2016 Updates: Reading Challenges / Favorite Books of 2016 (So Far)

It’s June and we are halfway year on 2016 (time is so fast). I’m going to share with you my Reading Challenge updates and my favorite books of 2016 so far. Note: ย It can change depending on the books I have yet to read from June – December.

Reading Challenge Updates:

Goodreads Reading Challenge – So far, I’ve read 89 of 100 books this year. I’m not sure if I’m going to extend this one to 150. As of now, I’m sticking to 100.

PopSugar Reading Challenge – This one is challenging because some of the genres aren’t my cup of tea. Haha! I’ve completed 15 categories out of 35. Not bad for me though. Here are the categories I have yet to complete:

  • Book Based on a Fairytale
  • National Book Award
  • Book Set in Your Home State
  • Book Translated in English
  • Romance set in the Future
  • Book Recommended by Someone You Just Met
  • Self-Improvement Book
  • Book Written by a Celebrity
  • Political Memoir
  • Book Atleast 100 years older than me
  • Book more than 600 Pages
  • Book From Oprah’s Book Club
  • Murder Mystery
  • Written by a Comedian
  • Graphic Novel
  • Protagonist who has your occupation
  • First Book You See in a Bookstore
  • Classic from the 20th Century
  • Autobiography

Around the Year in 52 Books – I decided to do this because the categories are easier to fill. I have to say I made a good progress in this than my PopSugar reading challenge. haha! I’ve completed 36 out of 52 categories. I have yet to fill the following:

  • Book by an author you discovered in 2015
  • Book about Books
  • Classic Book less than 200 pages
  • Book that was mentioned in another book
  • Childhood classic
  • Book set in the past (> 100 years)
  • Book from the Top 100 mystery novels
  • Biography / autobiography/memoir
  • Fairytale from a culture other than your own
  • 16th book on your TBR
  • Award Winning Book
  • A previous suggestion that did not make into the list
  • Top 100 Fantasy novels
  • A book with a type of food or drink in the title
  • A book with a great opening line
  • Book originally written in a language other than English

If you have any book recommendations from these categories, please let me know on the comments section. Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

Now, let’s move on to my Favorite Books of 2016 (so far):

ITCOK1.jpg

N9

WH

TLTWSG

TSEK

PP

Sempre

LM

Misconduct_CV.indd

HB

TMar

CW

TGi6E

Have you read any of these books? What are your favorite books so far this year? Feel free to share your thoughts on the comments ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

B

12 thoughts on “2016 Updates: Reading Challenges / Favorite Books of 2016 (So Far)

  1. Oh em. I honestly never heard of any of the books you listed (except for November 9). I’ll definitely check them out though! Since I know you like them.

    Also, I can’t even with how fast you read??? Seriously. HOW.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Oh! I’ve noticed that about me too. Kindle is such a life saver. I can finish up to 3 ebooks a day, if I really wanted to. Also, I like highlighting stuff (but I can’t bear to write on or to highlight my physical copies).

        Liked by 1 person

      • So true! Plus, it’s easier for me to read at night. I read more during night time (and sneak reading past my bedtime. haha!) ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish I could read as fast as this on physical books. LOL ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      • Same here! Which is both a blessing and a curse, seeing as it’s the reason why I started falling asleep in classes more frequently. HAHAHA. But I have no regrets. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And carrying a reader with plenty of book files stored inside is more convenient than lugging around actual books everywhere! I love the feel of physical books — they won’t ever be replaced — but I also can’t help but love the convenience of ebooks.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha! Coffee saves me from falling asleep during classes. I agree with you on the convenient part. Perfect when I’m being a mood reader and switching books anytime I want. Also, it’s good wen I’m on my way home. Reading while it’s traffic. ๐Ÿ™‚ My only enemy on ereader: if it rans out of battery and forgot to charge. haha!

        Like

  2. November 9 by Colleen Hoover, and The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand, are also included in my favorite reads this 2016 ๐Ÿ™‚ You have a great list of favorites, ate! I want to read Paper Princess by Erin Watt, so baaad. Btw, lovely handle!! ๐Ÿ’•

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! You are amazing Bea 89 books?!!! and it’s only June, I wish I could read that fast so I can catch up with my Reading Challenge on Goodreads. Oh I have a recommendation for Murder Mystery, The Westing Game I haven’t read it yet but the synopsis was promising I think you should give it a try. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

