Sempre by J.M. Darhower

Sempre.jpgPages: 528

Goodreads Rating: 4.23/5 stars

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Genre: Young Adult / New Adult, Contemporary Romance, Suspense, Dark

Publication Date: February 25, 2014

Publisher: Gallery Books

Summary (Goodreads):

THIS IS A STORY ABOUT SACRIFICE… DEATH… LOVE… FREEDOM. THIS IS A STORY ABOUT FOREVER.

Haven Antonelli and Carmine DeMarco grew up under vastly different circumstances. Haven, a second-generation slave, was isolated in the middle of the desert, her days full of hard work and terrifying abuse. Carmine, born into a wealthy Mafia family, lived a life of privilege and excess. Now, a twist of fate causes their worlds to collide. Entangled in a web of secrets and lies, they learn that while different on the surface, they have more in common than anyone would think. In a world full of chaos, where money and power rule, Haven and Carmine yearn to break free, but a string of events that began before either of them were born threatens to destroy them instead.

Murder and betrayal are a way of life, and nothing comes without a price-especially not freedom. But how much will they have to sacrifice? Can they escape their pasts? And, most of all, what does it mean to be free?

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

Many thanks to my book girlfriend, Camille, for recommending this book to me. ❤ This book has been on my TBR for ages and I finally get to pick this book up. Just the perfect timing I’m still on the mood for Mafia/Assassin themed books (currently obsessing with it).

Haven Antonelli grew up as a slave with her mother and they’re both abused for years. She lived her whole life being afraid because of it and never lose hope that one day, she’ll be free. When Dr. Vincent DeMarco— a Mafia member– took her, she’s adjusting to a new rich life that she never had. She still works hard for doing household chores and has yet to earn Dr. DeMarco’s trust. Also she met his sons, Dominic DeMarco and Carmine DeMarco. Carmine somewhat made her curious. He has this bad boy image and he has a strained relationship with his father because of what happened in the past. They’re both longing for someone and understand each other’s feelings despite of being flawed. So many things happened and everything has put them into a test.

Sempre is simply a gem and it gave me a bad case of book hangover. It took me a while to write something and organize my thoughts. Oh my god. What a beautiful story between a slave and a mafia prince (a hot-damn-colpo di fulmine-worthy- mafia – prince) . I think this is a perfect book to start when you’re going to dive in to Mafia themed books for the following reasons:

– It’s somewhat in between YA and NA.
Trigger warning: there is an abuse but it’s less graphic/violent. Not to the point you will cringe. I find it mild unlike the other ones I’ve read.
– It focuses more on the character / family drama.

The plot is well written and each scenes are very detailed. J.M Darhower’s writing style is hands down beautiful and I’m fully engrossed with the story. The romance between the characters is absolutely slow burn and the other thing that I love about this entire novel, all the characters aren’t left out. Everyone has their role in the story and they played it so good and they’re all complex. Dr. DeMarco is probably the most complex character. He’s a broken and stern man with a huge heart. Carmine may not understand his good intentions, but I love how he’s protective of him and doesn’t want his son to expose into a dangerous life. He wants Carmine to live free and not follow his footsteps. Whatever happens, he’s there for his son for good and bad times.

Haven is indeed a strong heroine. She’s selfless, loving and caring. Her character development is such a wonderful thing to see.Grab me some cherry coke and let me fangirl onCarmine DeMarco. My Mafia Prince. Goodness lord, I’m a sucker for bad boys. He’s a sweet bad boy and his love for Haven…

“Haven, I could never love someone like you, because there isn’t anyone else like you. You’re one of a kind.”

eeeeeee!!! *squeals more like a banshee*I swear there are more swoon worthy quotes, especially what Colpo di fulminemeans (not going to mention it here because you need to find out) and Overall, I love this book..per sempre.

B

4 thoughts on “Sempre by J.M. Darhower

Leave a Reply

