The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

TSTQPages: 342

Goodreads Rating: 3.83 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4/5 stars

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy (Retelling, Mythology), Romance, Cultural (Indian)

Publication Date: April 26, 2016

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Summary:

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

My Review:

This review is also posted on Goodreads

The Star-Touched Queen is a splendid, diverse and mesmerizing debut novel. The writing style is indeed beautiful and I’m carried away with it. The fantasy elements and the setting are well written. Visualizing them in my mind makes me dreamy. My unfamiliarity with the Indian culture and its description somewhat confused me that I have to put it down. It’s overwhelming but worth reading.

The story is about Maya and she has a horrible horoscope of death and destruction. The people in Bharata are very superstitious. They feared her fate and some disrespected her. Then, her father arranged a wedding for political purposes taking advantage of the given horoscope. However, the man she’d chosen to be her husband, Amar , was the king of Akaran or the Otherworld. Such kingdom is filled with secrets and must fulfill her duties as a queen. As she slowly unravels the mystery, she realized her life is threatened and she must be careful on whom she trust…

I will not go further to that because there are more things happened.. The story and the characters are slowly developed which is really good. The twists halfway are well done and the ending is greatly wrapped up. (I wish there’s more to it.) Also, I love the slow burn romance between Maya and Amar. Oh yes to slow burn romance in YA! Amar’s words made me swoon and I highlighted a lot of Amar quotes.

My favorite Amar quotes:

“I know your soul. Everything else is an ornament.”

“I am her husband. She needs no charm to hold my interest.”

“Only my queen would find hope in horror.” He took my hand in his and his gaze was burning. “You are my hope and more.”

There is one part that made me emotional: Gauri and Maya — Not going to mention why… but really, I didn’t expect to feel such way. Overall, it’s a wonderful book. Kudos to Roshani Chokshi because it’s greatly wrapped up. I’m looking forward on her upcoming books.

B

2 thoughts on “The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

  1. Lovely review, Bea! I’ve been meaning to read this book since it came out, but I never got around to it (more so, it’s not available at my library’s eBook database). 😥
    BUT, reading your review is motivating me to read it. I really need to see what everyone is loving about this book. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

