The Crown by Kiera Cass

TCPages: 279

Goodreads Rating: 4.07 / 5 stars

My Rating: 2 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance

Publication Date: May 3, 2016

Publisher: Harper Teen

Summary:

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

Note: This is a SPOILER REVIEW. I repeat. SPOILER REVIEW.

My Review:

Warning: My review contains spoilers. You might guess what happens in the end based on my rating.

My review is also posted on Goodreads — which I hide spoilers (thank you spoiler tags.)

The Crown continues as Eadlyn Schreave temporarily takes over Illea after the stressful things happened on the previous book. Taking the opportunity and experience is part of her lesson to fully become the next Queen. It’s challenging on her part especially when The Selection is on going. Finding the right guy for her isn’t easy. Whatever choice she makes, she must follow what her heart speaks and unexpectedly changes everything.

For me, the conclusion to this series is bittersweet. I’m going to be honest, I do like Kiera Cass but I have to say I’m disappointed with its ending. Like, really frustrated that I almost throw the book across the room because I’m holding to my thoughts and it ended not the way I expected or wanted. At the same time, I don’t want to be selfish and one sided with the situation. I hope you’ll understand my feeling of when-your-ship-didn’t-sail. I’m still on denial stage and I’ll get over this soon. I actually see it coming but I keep fighting the bad feeling, you know? Still, I am glad to see Eadlyn Schreave’s character developed into a fine lady. She handled the situations maturely and earned my respect.

Here I am, seeing the other perspective and tried to understand why it ended up like… THAT. I know some of you rooted for  Erik/Eikko  to win and I respect that. I think he won because [it’s a rule breaker to the tradition, it’s not a Maxon-America repeat, and somehow, his character shows that he’s a genuine, humble, thoughtful and simple man. His character stood out in some way despite of being behind the spotlight.

I’m sorry guys but I’m not convinced with this whole Erik – Eadlyn ship. I didn’t feel the spark between them and it was sort of an insta-love. Unlike what Eadlyn shared with Kile, these two tried to like each other.. THEY’RE SLOWLY FALLING and the chemistry between them is so evident. I don’t give a damn if it’s predictable.. these two have the chemistry. I have to vent out all of these. Apparently, this becomes my least favorite in the series. What can I do? Eadlyn’s decision prevails and I should respect her choice.

Why my bet and others didn’t win:

Kile – My bet. I am loyal to you no matter what. Among the other competitors, he knows Eadlyn the best. They’ve known each other for years. Majority, including myself are rooting for him. I guess it didn’t sail because it’s a Maxon-America repeat, predictable and boring. Well, I don’t care. I want an alternate ending where Eadlyn and Kile ship SAIL. SADLY, THERE IS NO ALTERNATE ENDING. SHIP DOOMED FOREVER.

Henri – obviously, communication barrier. a couple won’t work out if there is a lack of communication.

Hale – his charm fascinated me. He is like my back up bet. It seems he has a different type. 😉

Now, it’s time to say goodbye to this series and I’m definitely going to miss it. I’m still looking forward to Kiera Cass’s books in the future. Her writing style is really great and it effectively draws me into the story. Sadly, this book isn’t for me.

B.jpg

2 thoughts on “The Crown by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

