The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

FIBPages: 344

Goodreads Rating: 3.92/ 5 Stars

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publishing Date: May 5, 2015

Publisher: Harper Teen

Summary (Goodreads):

When Gia Montgomery’s boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she’d been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.

The problem is that days after prom, it’s not the real Bradley she’s thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn’t even know. But tracking him down doesn’t mean they’re done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend’s graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.

My Review:

Also posted on Goodreads

When I have a reading slump, I usually go for Kasie West’s books to take me out of it. As always, her books are light, fun, romantic and adorable. It never fails to make me giddy and to put a smile on my face until my cheeks hurt. Once again, she did it and I really enjoyed this.

On her prom night, Gia Montgomery’s boyfriend, Bradley broke up with her on a parking lot. She’s problematic about it since this is her chance to introduce him to her friends and to prove that she really have a boyfriend. Until she stumbled on this guy who is waiting for for his sister and asked him to be her fill-in boyfriend for the night.

Days after that night, she can’t help thinking about her fill-in boyfriend and decided to look for him. With Bec’s (Fill-In BF’s sister) request, she returned the favor by being his date on his ex-gf’s party. Later on, she started falling for him. However, she can’t escape the lies when Bradley (the real one) comes back to her life. That leaves her in a situation that might ruin everything.

To be honest, Gia really tested my patience. she annoyed the crap out of me by LYING to her friends just to prove a point. Oh by the way, her friends are a bunch of bitchy Barracudas and I think she wasted her time being with them. They are so fake and I hate them, especially Jules — The main Barracuda. True friends never ask you to prove a point just to see the truth.

Despite of what happened, I love her character development. She owned up her mistakes by apologizing. Their friendship isn’t the same as before, which I’m glad because she realized that they don’t really know each other but she gained new ones who are more sincere and real than them. BYE BARRACUDAS!

I want a friend like Bec. She’s one of the most sincerest and straightforward characters I’ve encountered. Gia deserves a friend who can point out her flaws and bring out the real her. Sometimes being flawed is good. It makes her human.

I want a boyfriend like her Fill-In Boyfriend. Not mentioning his name. Let’s say it’s one of the sexiest common male names. 😉 Haha! He isn’t a bad boy that I usually love. He’s a complete dork, genuine, cute and adorable. I have goo-goo eyes!

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I want another Kasie West book. :”>

B

Leave a Reply

