Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

RQPages: 388

Goodreads Rating: 4.12 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4/5 stars

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia

Publishing Date: February 10, 2015

Publisher: Harper Teen

Summary (Goodreads):

Graceling meets The Selection in debut novelist Victoria Aveyard’s sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king’s palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

My Review:

Also posted on Goodreads

The reason why I’m putting this off for a while it’s because of the hype. I wait for it to tone down and find the perfect timing to break my “Fantasy” reading slump. It seems Red Queen somewhat lived up to the hype.

“The gods rule us still. They have come down from the stars. And they are no longer kind.”

A society divided according to blood: The Reds – Commoners, destined for labor, and required for conscription at the age of 18 to serve the army; The Silvers – The Royal bloods with superhuman powers. They are the ones who rule the world and treat the Reds with cruelty.Mare Barrow is a Red and she’s a thief in their small village called Stilts to sustain her family while her brothers serve the army. She’s strong-willed, witty, badass girl who discovers she has a special ability. This discovery can be a threat to Silvers.

“Rise, red as the dawn.”

As a solution, she landed a job by pretending to be a Silver. She became the lost princess under the name of Lady Mareena Titanos. Her love interests are these Princes: Prince Cal, the one she met on Stilts (that she almost robbed) and the next King and Prince Maven, the prince she’s engaged with (an arranged one). Brothers with an elemental ability of Fire. They may be related by blood but there is a silent rivalry between these two. Silently,she works as a member of The Scarlet Guard; a group of Red rebels to destroy the Silver government. She’ll do everything for equality. She needs help from others but she has to find the right people to trust with because…anyone can betray anyone.

Victoria Aveyard’s debut novel is cliche but entertaining with a twist in the end. There are several things that I’ve seen in other books but I don’t really mind because I really enjoyed it. The writing style is great and easy to follow. I’m hooked with it. It somewhat reminds me of The Selection, Hunger Games, X-Men.. HECK.. even POKEMON. I swear, these Silvers have superhuman powers that are comparable to Pokemon. There’s Pikachu, Charizard, Blastoise, Venosaur, Alakazam etc..GONNA CATCH ‘EM ALL.

Well enough of that. I love the twist towards the end. I sensed the betrayal and my suspicions are right. LOOKS CAN BE DECEIVING GUYS. Then, there goes the EPILOGUE… I say, IT’S A MOTHERCHUCKERING TWIST. That’s brilliantly well done. *slow claps for Victoria Aveyard*

B

11 thoughts on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. LOL love the comparison to Pokemon, and I weirdly agree! The powers feel like they could be anything so long as you can imagine it. I also agree that the book was entertaining despite its flaws. I’m about to start Glass Sword and I’m hoping it’s much better 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this book so much when I first finished it – so entertaining. But with some distance I can see how there were loads of tropes now haha. Ah well, it did it’s job and kept me very well gripped for a couple of hours. I agreed, the ending is awesome and movie set-piece like.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve also been putting off this book because of the hype… I feel like I see Red Queen / Glass Sword everywhere, whether it be Instagram, Twitter, or blog posts. It’s great to know that it’s living up to the hype! I’ll pick it up soon – I just hope that I don’t come across any spoilers before then (I’ve been lucky so far)!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

