The Shadow by Sylvain Reynard

THSPages: 432

Goodreads Rating: 4.47 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, Adult

Publishing Date: February 2, 2016

Publisher: Berkley

Summary (Goodreads):

Raven Wood’s vampyre prince has returned, pledging his love and promising justice for every wrong done to her. In the wake of their reunion, Raven is faced with a terrible decision—allow the Prince to wreak vengeance against the demons of her past, or persuade him to stay his hand. But there is far more at stake than Raven’s heart…

A shadow has fallen over the city of Florence. Ispettor Batelli will not rest until he uncovers Raven’s connection to the theft of the priceless art from the Uffizi Gallery. And while the Prince hunts a traitor who sabotages him at every turn, he finds himself the target of the vampyres’ mortal enemy.

As he wages a war on two fronts, he will need to keep his love for Raven secret, or risk exposing his greatest weakness…

My Review:

Also posted on Goodreads

As always, Sylvain Reynard never fails to mesmerized me with his words. I love the way he tells a story with a delicate of history and romance in it. It’s amazing and consistent.The Shadow is one of the books I’m excited to dive in this year. I’m eager to know what happens on William York and Raven Wood’s story

“I’m not a good man. I’m not a good man at all. But I love you and my love is certainly steadfast.”

The story starts on what’s left on The Raven wherein William York is about to give Raven a precious gift after winning her back. He’s giving her justice by imprisoning her stepfather and she’ll be the jury of his fate. Raven’s decision truly speaks her personality. What she’d shown here makes admire her so much. An avenging angel but not monstrous.That serves right for a person who abused children. That’s just one part to conclude the issue.

The main conflict is about The Shadow who is likely betraying William a.k.a The Prince to claim the City of Florence and his reign. Obviously he is part of the Consilium and he is about to find out who is this tyrant. I made my guesses and I somewhat got it right (there are few others betrayed him and my suspicions are true). The Curia ( this is a group who are against the supernatural creatures and they ensure that humans are safe from them.) adds more conflict as they threat on unleashing wrath in the city.

So much has happened in this book. Lots of twists going on that William and Raven’s relationship has been put on a test. These two characters remained passionate and protective with each other throughout this book. Gah! I swoon over them. They gave me heart eyes! I love these two very much and I wish all is well to them on the next book.

It’s a promising sequel. However, there are some parts that are left out. Like, Ispettor Batelli’s investigation to Raven. I thought he’s a HUGE threat to them (apparently, it’s not). Also, I’m curious what role will Gabriel and Julianne play in this story. Aside from the connection of the stolen painting originally owned by William and Gabriel’s exchange with him… I still wonder. I hope it will be explained on the next book.

B

Leave a Reply

