Changing Course by Aly Martinez

CCPages:  251

Goodreads Rating: 4.11 / 5 stars

My Rating: 3.5 / 5 Stars

Genre:  New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publishing Date: January 29, 2014

Publisher: Createspace

Summary (Goodreads):

I met Sarah Kate Erickson when I was twenty-one years old. I was lucky enough to keep her for seven years before a tragic accident stole her from me. She didn’t die, but sometimes I think it would have been easier if she had.

I lived in a haze for those four years after the accident. Catering to her every need, even though she hated the very sight of my face. I tried to hold on to her and the future that we were supposed to build together. But you can’t hold on to someone who doesn’t exist anymore.

It wasn’t until I met Jesse Addison, a barista at the local coffee shop, that I realized I didn’t just lose Sarah that tragic night, I lost myself as well. Jesse taught me how to let go of the past and learn to love again. But what happens when your past haunts your present, and the woman you used to love refuses to accept the woman you can’t live without?

*Intended for readers 18+. Each book in this series can be read as a standalone.*

My Review:

Final rating: 3.5 / 5 stars

For Brett Sharp, the only woman for him he’s in love with was Sarah Erickson. As soon as they get to know each other at the bar, they hit right away. They dated, shared romantic moments and eventually married after years of relationship.

Things went downhill when Sarah and her best friend, Manda (who happens to be dating Brett’s best friend, Caleb Jones) had a car accident. Unfortunately, Sarah was severely injured but her best friend didn’t survived. Traumatized on such event, she became suicidal. As a husband, Brett tried his best to help her. Their relationship starts to fade away. He lost his Sarah

Years later, Brett met this attractive,kind, timid lady with a little bit sass, Jesse Addison. She works on a coffee shop he used to visit for breakfast. They are both attracted to each other especially Jesse. It’s just that Brett has issues. He still can’t move on about his previous relationship and tries his best to let go and love again. But, some things in the past that needs a closure. Or else, he might lose the woman he loves.

I like the writing style of this book. It’s easy to get into it though it’s a slow start. However, I have some issues with the characters. I don’t like Brett and Sarah’s story. It was aninsta-love/lust. I can’t help rolling my eyes on that. I know they’re not going to end up for some reasons. Sarah’s personality seemed a little off from the beginning. I don’t know WHY Brett like this damn woman and unleash his raging hormones.

I’m not a big fan of Brett and Jesse as protagonists. These two are both annoying, whiny, overdramatic and childish. Christ almighty, I NEED LONG PATIENCE FOR THEM. Jesse might be strong and understanding but I don’t like her jumping to false conclusions and apologizing every now and then. Then Brett, who is an a-hole to Jesse and still holding on to Sarah who is mentally unstable but isn’t on a proper treatment facility. He needs a wake up call that he can’t fix everything.

Rant over.

The only tolerable character in this book is Caleb Jones. I’m more curious about him than anyone else. He’s a wonderful supportive character. I call him a hero for Jesse and Brett. Without him, everything will be messed up. I wish he’ll find happiness that he deserved.

The ending was good and finally fix their shits and realized on things. I guess that’s the important thing for me. I’m definitely reading the next book because of Caleb.

B

Leave a Reply

