Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

FSRTPages: 320

Goodreads Rating: 3.81 / 5 Stars

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

Publishing Date: January 5, 2016

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Summary (Goodreads):

Seventeen-year-old Mercedes Ayres has an open-door policy when it comes to her bedroom, but only if the guy fulfills a specific criteria: he has to be a virgin. Mercedes lets the boys get their awkward, fumbling first times over with, and all she asks in return is that they give their girlfriends the perfect first time- the kind Mercedes never had herself.

Keeping what goes on in her bedroom a secret has been easy- so far. Her absentee mother isn’t home nearly enough to know about Mercedes’ extracurricular activities, and her uber-religious best friend, Angela, won’t even say the word “sex” until she gets married. But Mercedes doesn’t bank on Angela’s boyfriend finding out about her services and wanting a turn- or on Zach, who likes her for who she is instead of what she can do in bed.

When Mercedes’ perfect system falls apart, she has to find a way to salvage her reputation and figure out where her heart really belongs in the process. Funny, smart, and true-to-life, FIRSTS is a one-of-a-kind young adult novel about growing up.

My Review: 

Thank you St. Martin’s Press and NetGalley for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review!

Surprisingly, I really enjoyed this book. It’s well written, daring, thought provoking and one of a kind story that we don’t usually see in a young adult book. For a YA novel, it is a little mature. I don’t really mind sex in YA but with the issues tackled here, you must keep an open mind about it.

Mercedes / Mercy offers to have sex with virgin guys. She teaches them what to do or not to do on sex so that these guys can give their girlfriends a pleasurable, flawless first time. If you’re going to think about it? It’s very unusual. She has good intentions of helping them and doesn’t want those girls to experience what she’d been experience. Certainly her actions are wrong, ridiculous and stupid.

However, I was eager to know the story behind all of it. Which makes me understand her more. She definitely has family issues. Still, there are consequences she had to face and learned her lessons in a hard way. Overall, it is a great debut novel.

B

8 thoughts on “Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed this one, Bea! I LOVED Firsts (I think I’ll be doing a big discussion post on it), so am very excited to see someone else liking it too!
    I think Mercedes is such a deep and well-written character; I can’t wait to see more of Flynn’s writing – I heard she’s writing a new book! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love how this book was written and I hope YA books will have more thought provoking topics like this. I agree with you about Mercedes (can I just rave about Zach too? i adore that guy so much!) I am looking forward on your discussion about Firsts 😊💃🏻 only few people enjoyed this book and I’m so glad we’re on the same page about it. 😊💕

      Liked by 1 person

      • I LOVED ZACH. He was such a sweetheart, and his dynamic with Mercedes was so interesting and fun to read about. Thank you! I’m looking forward to writing about it too.

        And I know what you mean – not many of my friends liked it and I’m glad I’ve found someone who likes it too! 😊 So yes, very happy and relieved we’re on the same page!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I love how he isn’t judgmental towards Mercedes despite of her actions. He remains on her side and accepted what happened. Not that he tolerates it. Gaaah! 💗😍

        Like

Leave a Reply

