Finding Hope by Colleen Nelson

FHPages: 200

Goodreads Rating: 3.79 /5 stars

My Rating: 2 / 5 Stars

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Publishing Date: April 12, 2016

Publisher: Dundurn

Summary (Goodreads): 

Hope leaves her small town for a fresh start, but her plans are derailed by an online romance and the appearance of her brother.

Hope lives in a small town with nothing to do and nowhere to go. With a drug addict for a brother, she focuses on the only thing that keeps her sane, writing poetry. To escape, she jumps at the chance to attend Ravenhurst Academy as a boarding student. She’ll even put up with the clique-ish Ravens if it means making a fresh start.

At first, Ravenhurst is better than Hope could have dreamed. She has a boyfriend and a cool roommate, and she might finally have found a place she can fit in. But can she trust her online boyfriend? And what can she do after her brother shows up at the school gates, desperate for help, and the Ravens turn on her? Trapped and unsure, Hope realizes that if she wants to save her brother, she has to save herself first.

My Review: 

Review also posted on Goodreads

Thank you NetGalley for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

I find this book an okay read. It started off really good but as I go on.. I just started to lose my interest because the main characters annoyed the crap out of me. Let’s say it tackles several issues on it like drug addiction, bullying and abuse but I can’t stand how the characters tolerate them. They aren’t perfect and commit mistakes, I get it. There are some things that I find really stupid. Like… are you even THINKING?

I think Hope dates a guy online irked me the most and she sends NUDE photos to him. THIS IS PURE STUPIDITY. GIRL.. You haven’t seen the guy or don’t even know if he truly EXIST. I don’t think she’s in the right senses or probably she is.. but it’s just plain stupid.

It’s a pretty sad book with trigger warnings but I just don’t feel connected to it. The writing is great, don’t get me wrong. It’s just not for me.

B

Leave a Reply

