TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Favorite Audio Books

This tag is created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey. For the Goodreads Group: Top 5 Wednesday to check for every week’s topic. For this week’s topic: Favorite Audio Books. I’ve tried a few audio books and I’m really enjoying it especially when I’m multi-tasking. These are the audio books that I really enjoyed and mentioned the narrators on the description (bold letters):

WMiMM
Whodunnit? Murder in Mystery Manor by Anthony E. Zuiker

  • This was my first audio book experience and I really enjoyed it. There are times that I fell asleep on it because I’m really tired and I keep forgetting to pause it. It’s a great mystery novel  and it’s narrated by Gildart Jackson. His voice is really good and definitely one of my favorite narrators out there.

 

TGB

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

  • Neil Gaiman writes weird yet creative stories and he is just the perfect narrator for it. I tried reading them but I just couldn’t get into it. So if you’re going to try reading his books, I highly recommend you try it as an audio book. 🙂

 

AtY

Addicted to You by Krista & Becca Ritchie

  • It might be funny and awkward to read a New Adult as an audio book because of the intimate scenes. However, Erin Mallon just nailed on voicing Lily Calloway in the Addicted series. I’ve listened to Ricochet and Addicted for Now and they are really good.

 

20821614

You by Caroline Kepnes

  • Out of all my audio book reading experience, this is by far my top favorite and Santino Fontana is just perfect to voice Joe Goldberg. That makes the ambiance more enjoyable and creepier than ever. You is written in second person approach. If you haven’t read this book, go for the audio book. If you have a physical copy, listen to this at the same time. It’s amazing. I’m dead serious. (he got a sexy voice)

 

TGOTT

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

  • I guess mystery novels are effective for me if it’s in audio version. This is narrated by three women for each characters. Clare Corbett as Rachel Watson, Louise Brealey as Megan Hipwell and India Fisher as Anna WatsonOut of the three, Clare Corbett is my favorite. The way she narrates it makes me more curious.

 

Have you tried listening to an audio book? If yes, do you have any favorites? Let me know on the comments. If no, are you willing to give it a try? Feel free to share your feelings about it.

B

8 thoughts on “TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Favorite Audio Books

  1. I agree with choosing the audiobook where possible for Neil Gaiman books – he has such a wonderful way with words and I think his particular whimsical, poetic style lends well to being read by the man himself since he knows where to place the proper emphases and so on. Although I read You as an e-book, I can’t help but shudder at how wonderfully creepy listening to it must have been, definitely an “experience” I’m sure! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree with you on Neil Gaiman. I was able to get through with his books via audio. He’s such a fantastic storyteller. “You” was definitely an experience. the best one I’ve ever tried. Thank you Emma for sharing your thoughts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t imagine ‘reading’ a mystery novel via an audiobook! Does it get kind of ~atmospheric~ and scary? :p

    I’ve only tried the one audiobook and that’s for Throne of Glass, which I ended up reading in print and really disliking, haha. I’m not sure if that’s anything to do with the book or the fact that it’s audio, though I find that audiobooks tend to be much slower than how I’d read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The ambiance is better and I’m more immersed with the story. You by Caroline Kepnes indeed creeps me out and also Coraline by Neil Gaiman. However, it depends on the narrator on how he/she will deliver the story.

      At first, I had a hard time on audio book. Once I got used to it, the pacing is really quick. Depending on the story.

      Like

      • I’ve only watched Coraline, I wasn’t even aware there was a book! Except maybe a graphic novel? It really creeped me out, too.

        Thanks for saying that! Maybe I should be trying out more audiobooks to see if anything catches my fancy. Do you normally read it at a sped up pace or just the usual?

        Like

      • I’ve watched Coraline years ago and I really liked it. 🙂 Try to explore audio books. Usually I go for it when I had a hard time getting into the story or if I’m not into a certain genre. I usually set on the usual pace. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

