Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder

CBPages: 412

Goodreads Rating: 4.09 / 5 Stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal Romance

Publishing Date:  January 5th, 2010

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Summary (Goodreads):

Restless souls and empty hearts

Brooklyn can’t sleep. Her boyfriend, Lucca, died only a year ago, and now her friend Gabe has just died of an overdose. Every time she closes her eyes, Gabe’s ghost is there waiting for her. She has no idea what he wants or why it isn’t Lucca visiting her dreams.

Nico can’t stop. He’s always running, trying to escape the pain of losing his brother, Lucca. But when Lucca’s ghost begins leaving messages, telling Nico to help Brooklyn, emotions come crashing to the surface.

As the nightmares escalate and the messages become relentless, Nico reaches out to Brooklyn. But neither of them can admit that they’re being haunted. Until they learn to let each other in, not one soul will be able to rest.

My Review: 

Review also posted on Goodreads

I discovered this book when I dropped by on our local bookstore and browsing some books probably 3 years ago. There is something about this that makes me want to read it. I got side tracked by other books and this slipped out of my mind. I’m so glad I finally got into it.

Chasing Brooklyn is written in verse. The premise is beautiful and easy to read. I didn’t expect to be hooked with its story. It’s sad, touching, and refreshing with a touch of paranormal. There are some parts/lines just hit me on the chest. So good and well-written. It’s nice to see Nico and Brooklyn recovered from loss of their dearly departed loved ones, and found happiness and love with each other. The ending fell a little flat to me, still it is such a great story. I’ll read more of Lisa Schroeder’s novels.

My favorite:

[Fri., Jan.13th–Brooklyn]

The beautiful thing is,
music can be like
a time machine

One song–
the lyrics, the melody, the mood–
can take you back
to a moment in time
like nothing else can.

B

4 thoughts on “Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder

  1. I’ve only read one of Schroeder’s works–I Heart You, You Haunt Me–and found it remarkably… meh, haha. I’m always suspicious of books written in verse because most of the time, I feel like it doesn’t actually need to be written in verse or it’s better in prose. Did you find that the verse actually benefits this book?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

