The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines

VBPages: 259

Goodreads Rating: 4.0 / 5 Stars

My Rating: 4 stars

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publishing Date: October 30, 2012 (First Pub: 10/12/2011)

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Summary (Goodreads):

There was something wicked about Beau that drew me to him. What was wrong with me? Why did I want to sin so badly?

Ashton is getting tired of being good, of impressing her parents and playing ideal girlfriend to Sawyer Vincent. Sawyer is perfect, a regular Prince Charming, but when he leaves town for the summer, it’s his cousin Beau who catches Ashton’s eye. Beau is the sexiest guy she’s ever seen, and even though he’s dangerous, Ashton is drawn to him.

Beau loves his cousin like a brother, so the last thing he wants to do is make a move on Sawyer’s girl. Ashton is off-limits, absolutely. That’s why he does his best to keep his distance, even though he’s been in love with her forever. When Ashton wants to rekindle their childhood friendship in Sawyer’s absence, Beau knows he should say no.

Ashton and Beau don’t want to hurt Sawyer. But the more they try to stay away from each other, the more intense their urges become. It’s getting way too hard to resist…

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

Buddy read this with the lovely sis Pearl.

As always, Abbi Glines’ novels are quick and easy to read. It never fails to get out of my reading slump. The story might be cliche but it’s a guilty pleasure and I don’t really mind love triangles.

Let’s talk about the heroine: Ashton Gray. People recognized her as a preacher’s daughter and as much as possible, she stays good in the eyes of many. She have been an obedient child to her parents and a perfect girlfriend to Sawyer Vincent. Whenever she’s around with Beau Vincent, the bad boy in their town who happens to be Sawyer’s cousin, she feels carefree on who she really is. These three were best friends during their childhood years. They have an adorable friendship and it’s really nice to see that bond. Things changed as they grew up when they boys see Ash differently.

To be honest, I can’t help but be annoyed with Ash. It’s wrong to go behind Sawyer’s back while he’s away during Summer for Beau. Trying to understand her character, it’s like she loved the wrong boy in the very beginning. I know it sounds wrong but at least she’s honest about it. It’s hard to be with someone but you’re not really head over heels with that person. What she did is unforgivable, I like that she didn’t set aside the issue. She had closure between the two guys and ended up with the right. I think it’s enough for me to see that.

What really gets on my nerves: Ash’s Father. What kind of a preacher who calls someone a ‘wild card’ or a ‘white trash’. How fucking judgmental. He maybe sorry about it but NAH. He reads a bible and should KNOW it’s not good to judge someone. Sorry but it really ticked me off.

Set aside the bad vibes. I seriously love BEAU VINCENT. Bad boys never failed to make me swoon and oh boy, I love Beau. The guy just fights for the girl he wants. He is a sexy, swoon-worthy bad boy. Overall, it’s an enjoyable read and I really liked it.On the first half of this book, I’m decided to give it 3 stars but the last few chapters saved it. (Thank goodness!) #TeamBeauAlltheWay 🙂

B

2 thoughts on “The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines

  1. I’ve read one of Abbi Gline’s novels before and really enjoyed it! 🙂 It’s been a while since I’ve read a contemporary – or New Adult for that reason. And oh god I love bad boys too, such a weakness for them! Also really like the name Beau haha. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

