The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco


TGFTWPages: 267

Goodreads Rating: 3.74 / 5 stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult, Horror

Publishing Date: August 5, 2014

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Summary (Goodreads): 

You may think me biased, being murdered myself. But my state of being has nothing to do with the curiosity toward my own species, if we can be called such. We do not go gentle, as your poet encourages, into that good night.

A dead girl walks the streets.

She hunts murderers. Child killers, much like the man who threw her body down a well three hundred years ago.

And when a strange boy bearing stranger tattoos moves into the neighborhood so, she discovers, does something else. And soon both will be drawn into the world of eerie doll rituals and dark Shinto exorcisms that will take them from American suburbia to the remote valleys and shrines of Aomori, Japan.

Because the boy has a terrifying secret – one that would just kill to get out.

The Girl from the Well is A YA Horror novel pitched as “Dexter” meets “The Grudge”, based on a well-loved Japanese ghost story.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads.

The Girl from the Well successfully gave me the chills and scared the hell out of me and I didn’t expect it. It was like The Grudge / The Ring (both Japanese version) in book form. I remember that time when my friends and I had The Grudge: Ju On movie marathon and there are lot of jump scares. Especially, Kayako Saeki crawling down damn stairs and have this eerie voice is etched forever in my mind. After reading this book… YES! I finally found a good Halloween book!

The story is about a vengeful ghost named, Okiku. Years ago, she was murdered by a man and her soul remained unrest. For years, she murders those who abused children. It’s a way of giving justice to their victims and free their souls. Rin Chupeco’s description of her character is really good. It’s detailed and when you imagine Okiku, she definitely reminds me of Kayako or Sadako. She wears a white dress, has a long black hair, and she stands upside down on the ceiling. Imagining her just creeps me out.The way she slayed those abusers, holy guacamole. GORE. The scary scenes are PERFECT.

Aside from her, there are other characters: Tarquin Halloway and his cousin, Callie. Okiku found Tarquin when she sensed a threat towards him and as well as intrigued because there’s a dark spirit inside him.
With that, she decided to protect this boy from that dark spirit. As for Callie, she knows there’s something wrong with Tark and wants to help him even if ghosts scares her. Such a courageous girl.

I don’t really know much about about the Japanese culture and folklore. I think that’s when my reading pace starts to get slow and I’m confused on some parts. It’s fun getting to know about it. It’s just that I struggled on it. (Ichimatsu dolls are pretty but creepy. btw.) Another thing, some scenes are rushed and tends to jump from one scene to another.

I recommend this book if you’re looking for a Halloween read. Okiku is an interesting ghost. She’s not really that bad even if she tends to appear out of nowhere. 🙂

B

10 thoughts on “The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco

  1. I read this one before Halloween and I thought it was a great horror book that was actually successful at scaring the crap out of me! I agree that it is very reminiscent of “The Grudge”, which also terrifies me. Great review and I’m glad you liked the book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

