Fourth Debt by Pepper Winters

fthdPages: 350

Goodreads Rating: 4.37 / 5 Stars

My Rating: 2 / 5 stars

Genre: Adult, Erotica, Contemporary Romance

Publishing Date: August 11, 2015

Publisher: CreateSpace

Summary (Goodreads):

“We’d won. We’d cut through the lies and treachery and promised an alliance that would free us both. But even as we won, we lost. We didn’t see what was coming. We didn’t know we had to plan a resurrection.”

Nila Weaver fell in love. She gifted her entire soul to a man she believed was worthy. And in the process, she destroyed herself. Three debts paid, the fourth only days away. The Debt Inheritance has almost claimed another victim.

Jethro Hawk fell in love. He let down his walls to a woman he believed was his cure. For a moment, he was free. But then he paid the ultimate price.

There is no more love. Only war. Hope is dead. Now, there is only death all around them.

My Review:

I buddy read this with Kat.

The pacing is slower than I thought. I must admit that I skimmed some of the pages because there is SO MUCH unnecessary talking and bickering. Plus, I wasn’t keen on reading Nila’s thoughts. It tends to be repetitive. For one moment, I want all the characters to STFU.

16682171

I keep on waiting for something to happen that will spark my interest. So far, nothing really happened in this book. I’m so bored… then there’s a moment when Nila introduced to medieval torture devices which really scared me. Though it’s hard to picture it based on the description here in the book because I really don’t have ANY idea about it.. After looking it up.. Holy crap. I fear for her in those moments because ONE mistake.. that may cause her death. She’s on the verge of giving up especially when she feels there’s no one to protect her. She’s definitely weak and vulnerable in this book..

Supposedly, it’s 3 stars for me BUT the ending just fell really flat to me. I was like “That was it?” I’m not satisfied with it. Not really a jaw dropping kind of cliffhanger. I’m just underwhelmed. I’m still reading the last book but my expectations are lower now.

Review also posted on Goodreads

B

Leave a Reply

