Debt Inheritance by Pepper Winters

DIPages: 222

Goodreads Rating: 3.81 / 5 Stars

My Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars

Genre: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Erotica

Publishing Date: August 14, 2014

Publisher: CreateSpace

Summary (Goodreads):

This book is contains disturbing scenes. Not recommended for 18 years old and below.

“I own you. I have the piece of paper to prove it. It’s undeniable and unbreakable. You belong to me until you’ve paid off your debts.”

Nila Weaver’s family is indebted. Being the first born daughter, her life is forfeit to the first born son of the Hawks to pay for sins of ancestors past. The dark ages might have come and gone, but debts never leave. She has no choice in the matter.

She is no longer free.

Jethro Hawk receives Nila as an inheritance present on his twenty-ninth birthday. Her life is his until she’s paid off a debt that’s centuries old. He can do what he likes with her—nothing is out of bounds—she has to obey.

There are no rules. Only payments.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

Pepper Winters is great in writing dark, cringing and surprisingly addictive stories. They’re not your ordinary romance novels and this book is a good start. However, I have issues on it.

The arrangement going on in this book is bat shit crazy and absolutely ridiculous. It’s like this: The Hawk and The Weaver family sort have a lifetime deal. So in this generation, it’s Jethro Hawk’s time to stake the claim by owning the daughter of the Weaver family, Nila Weaver as a payment of their family’s debt to the Hawk family. This kind of arrangement has been going on for 600-fucking-years. Holy guacamole. No kidding. I can’t even..

No matter how insane and wrong this is, the story is intriguing. I want to see how this arrangement will last. I wonder if they will break it. Jethro Hawk and Nila Weaver do have the chemistry and angst. They’re both twisted and I like it.

I think I’ll give this a 3.5 (and goodreads doesn’t have a half-star rating.) since the writing style is pretty good, setting aside the craziness going on here and some of it makes me cringe.

B

Leave a Reply

