The Opportunist by Tarryn Fisher

TOPages: 278

Goodreads Rating: 4.25 / 5 Stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 Stars

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publishing Date: November 14, 2011

Publisher: Self-Published

Summary (Goodreads):

Olivia Kaspen has just discovered that her ex-boyfriend, Caleb Drake, has lost his memory. With an already lousy reputation for taking advantage of situations, Olivia must decide how far she is willing to go to get Caleb back. Wrestling to keep her true identity and their sordid past under wraps, Olivia’s greatest obstacle is Caleb’s wicked, new girlfriend; Leah Smith. It is a race to the finish as these two vipers engage in a vicious tug of war to possess a man who no longer remembers them. But, soon enough Olivia must face the consequences of her lies, and in the process discover that sometimes love falls short of redemption.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

“He was my crack. I could never get enough, and when I had him I was already thinking about when I could have him next.”

The ending brought tears in my eyes. That is something that I didn’t expect at all and it’s hard to put words on this review when your heart is too crushed from it. I want to scream my frustrations on top of my lungs and shit… IT HURTS. THE ENDING HURTS. I need a moment. I. AM. MESSED. UP.

All the characters here are undeniably flawed, twisted but bold. The story is reallytwisted and definitely a mind fuck love story. I love Olivia Kaspen no matter how broken she is or the mistakes she did to hurt a person she loved. She got the angst, sarcasm and sass. Her emotions felt so real to me. When she found out her ex-lover Caleb Drake have an amnesia, she took the advantage of making him falling in love with her again. She’ll do everything to get what is hers. However she is scared that he will know the truth that made their relationship fell apart.

When I’m reading this, my anticipation starts to build up every time I finish a chapter. I keep waiting for something to happen until the last 5 chapters of this book (including the Epilogue). I was on the edge of my seat and just couldn’t stop reading! All left me with surprises and took me in an emotional roller coaster ride. I’ve got to be honest, this book is depressing.

What makes it beautiful?

First love never dies, yes, but it doesn’t mean that he/she is the one till the very end.
We may found our soulmates but because of wrong choices, we lost them and could never get back.

That will scar us for life but if you really love a person, you’ll know how to let them go and wish them the happiness they deserved.

See? it’s perfectly imperfect.

B

2 thoughts on “The Opportunist by Tarryn Fisher

  1. Awww, Bea! *hugs you tight* Great review! I’ve been thinking about reading this book VERY, VERY soon since it’s one of the books from Melissa & my challenge. I’m currently reading “When It Rains” but after that I’ll probably start this one – your review made me really curious and excited! I love emotional books, so this seems to be a perfect read … even though I’ll probably hurt afterwards. Oh well. I’m glad you liked it so much! ❤

    Yvonne @ A World Between Folded Pages

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Yvonne! I am looking forward for you and Melissa to read this one. It’s kind of a slow start but it starts to get better. Also looking forward on your thoughts on “When It Rains”. I cried so hard on that book. </3 I hope you'll love it as much as I did. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

