You by Caroline Kepnes

20821614Pages: 422

Goodreads rating: 3.79 / 5 Stars

My Rating: 4 / 5 Stars

Genre: Adult, Mystery, Thriller

Publishing Date: September 25, 2014

Publisher: Atria / Emily Bestler Books

Summary (Goodreads):

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

 My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

Creepy, odd and surprisingly addictive.

First of all, this book is not for everyone because it is dark and disturbing. So I suggest you keep an open mind while reading this. I’ve listened to its audio version and Santino Fontana’s narration is fantastic and I’m so hooked with it. (He’s just perfect as Joe.) Plus, it’s written in second person which makes the whole reading experience creepier than ever.

Joe Goldberg isn’t your ordinary character. You will definitely love or hate him and I’m so CONFLICTED. He works on a book store and when he laid his eyes on Guinevere Beck, he became completely obsessed with her. Damn. He is a creepy, manipulative, psycho stalker. He will do anything to make him as her lover even if it means of hurting people. I swear, he is absolutely insane and messed up. I know this is WRONG but I’m impressed with his stalking abilities and it made me go “WTF. Did you just do that”? This guy is really smart but I feel like he’s just longing for love. As for Beck, well.. I hate her. It’s hard to understand her motives though but just like Joe, she is longing for love as well.

OMFG. These two are CRAZY. IDK WHY I LIKE JOE. I think he is a romantic guy but his mind is MESSED up and he deserves some help. His ACTIONS are not acceptable though. Very vile and so sick. OMG SOMEONE FIX THIS GUY. I hate for liking this bastard.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. It’s very entertaining and indeed a crazy read. Just a reminder, this book might make you uncomfortable. It’s up to you to read it

B

Leave a Reply

