The Heir by Kiera Cass

Pages: 342TH

Goodreads Rating: 3.91 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance

Publishing Date: May 5, 2015

Publisher: Harper Teen

Summary (Goodreads):

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

My Review:

Review also posted on Goodreads

The Heir is one of my most anticipated books this year. The long wait is over and I put down all my pending reads and immediately start this one as soon as it was released. I never really thought it will be a series instead of trilogy, either way I’m glad that there’s more.

I don’t consider it as a sequel because this is entirely a different story. It sets 20 years after Maxon Schreave had chosen America Singer to be his wife, and Queen of Illea. Their story is absolutely romantic and I will never forget how they made me feel. In this book, a new generation begins when their firstborn, Eadlyn Schreave will have her own Selection. Apparently, she opposed on this traditional competition because she’s not ready to fall in love and feels like she didn’t have any choice to love someone at the right time. It’s the only option to divert the attention of their people after all the chaotic events happened in Illea. 35 suitors selected from different hometowns with the possibility of capturing her heart. Even she’s a tough nut to crack, she wants someone who can accept and love her the way she was.

This is the moment where I need to process my thoughts, I just… OH GOODNESS I LOVE IT! I’m having book hangover right now! Seriously, this is really good. Unlike inThe Selection, we get to see the competitor’s point of view. What piqued my interest is that we get to see the Heir’s perspective. I love this idea because somehow we feel Maxon’s pressure when he had his Selection.

Moving on, Eadlyn Schreave is different from America Singer. She is a modern princess with angst. Her personality is intimidating and strong. Most of the time, she gets on my nerves because she is a spoiled immature brat. As the selection goes on, I like how her character improves. Everything sinks in that she’ll be the future queen and by that, she’ll be held with bigger responsibilities for her country and people. She definitely needs someone who can confide and love her for what she is.

I must say this is more entertaining because it’s hard to guess who she is going to end up with. . Out of all the suitors, three had potentials to win Eadlyn’s heart: Henri, Kile and Hale. After finishing the book, I am not even sure if my guess is right because these gentlemen are beautiful inside and out in their own ways. I have never been this torn. I guess I’m rooting for Kile or Hale. I like Henri, he’s humble and passionate but I don’t see any chemistry between him and Eadlyn.

Aside from that, It’s so nice to see America and Maxon. Even as they aged, their sweetness and undying love are so adorable! They still make me feel giddy. I also loved the bond between Eadlyn and Ahren as well as their younger siblings. I swear, it’s so adorable when they are all together. Overall, I love it and it’s worth waiting for. This is a CLIFFHANGER AND I NEED THE 5TH ONE SO BAD! I CAN’T WAIT!

B

2 thoughts on “The Heir by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

